I wish I was Clementine because I want to erase a part of my memory

0 24
Avatar for sushichoke
2 years ago

Hello my Sushies,

I have had a love-hate relationship with love. Come on, let's be honest, it's complex and it's really difficult to find true love.

Sponsors of sushichoke
empty
empty
empty

I am an old school romantic. So when I met my muse, I didn't want us to simply go on dates and click pictures. Instead, I insisted on watching the moon, clicking polaroids, going on thrift shopping, cooking lunch and more. It was picture-perfect, but just in my mind. And that's exactly why we aren't together today.

I learnt a lot of things after being in love and losing it, but here are a few of them that I want to share with you all.

Love Yourself First: Being in love is the purest feeling but how can you love someone when you don't love yourself?

Neither of us loved ourselves and eventually, the lack of self-love started biting us. I was struggling with my anxiety and depression when I met my partner and rushing in just complicated things. It eventually affected us and made us question our decisions.

Let Go Of Your Past Traumas: This wasn’t the first time we were falling in love. Unfortunately, we had been conditioned to accept love in fragments. So we could never appreciate the genuine efforts. Even if we tried to do it, the past traumas would force us to question each other's truthfulness.

It is important to bury the past and start afresh.

Learn To Trust: Trust is the most important thing in a relationship. Turning unnecessarily suspicious due to your fears will only sabotage your healthy relationship.

The time spent with my partner taught me the importance of trusting my choices because that's how I can trust someone else.

Set Your Boundaries: Human wants are unlimited and expectations come along with emotions. However, the goal should be to live a peaceful life and that's possible when you set your boundaries.We somehow promised each other the things which were beyond our capability. This resulted in disappointment and arguments.

Setting boundaries is not offensive, rather it's a sign of respect.

Live In The Moment: We kept on digging the past and worrying about the future. The whole process was so tiresome that we forgot about the present. Living in the moment is the most beautiful thing. All you have to do is keep your worries at bay and enjoy what you have.

Be Practical: The creative side of my brain forced me to picturise everything in a dramatic manner. But that frame was far from reality.

It's completely normal to be dreamy when in love, but it is essential to practical and logical. Rationality safeguards a relationship and helps you to prosper as a couple.

Ta-da, that's it. Tell me what has love taught you so far?


2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Geekgirl
Sponsors of sushichoke
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sushichoke
2 years ago

Comments