What Is Maladaptive Daydreaming?

1 25
Avatar for susanavel2005
1 year ago

Good day my red.cash friends long time no upload but for today's video is about Maladaptive daydreaming. A habit that some of us have, do you experience maladaptive daydreaming?. If you don't know what that is keep reading to find out😉. But before that thank you to my dearest sponsor @MaritessNgBuhayMo for the never ending support🥰.

Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty

Have you ever sat through a boring class? Only to find yourself drifting into a daydream?. Maybe you have dreamt about laying in paradise, minutes before checking out of a shift. In most cases, we daydream when we wish to be elsewhere but can't change the current setting or situation just yet. It sounds harmless, creative and fun right? but too much of anything is always bad for you. Here's what you need to know about Maladaptive Daydreaming:

WHAT REALLY IS MALADAPTIVE DAYDREAMING?

Maladaptive Daydreaming is a term first coined by Professor Eli Somer. It is a psychiatric phenomenon that can interfere with your ability to carry out daily tasks including your academics, work, and other regular activities. Professor Somer found that Maladaptive Daydreaming occurs in people's lives that have suffered from severe trauma. As a result, they would daydream in order to escape their harsh painful realities. What's interesting about Maladaptive Daydreaming is that it actually isn't represented in the DSM notebook that psychologists often refer to when diagnosting patients. However some professionals believe it is a mental disorder that can severly affect the individual.

WHAT ARE THE SYMPTOMS?

People who experience Maladaptive Daydreaming often get triggered by real life traumatizing events or more reminders of them. They usually have very vivid detailed daydreams that contain rich, imaginative plots. You might whisper during these daydreams which can last for hours and effect your ability to finish tasks. You might have trouble sleeping at night too. Maladaptive Daydreaming can also coexist with other psychiatric problems including ADD, OCD, and Depression.

IS THERE A TREATMENT FOR IT?

Unfortunately, there is no known treatment for Maladaptive Daydreaming. However, there are techniques you can use to reduce the symptoms such as avoiding potentially triggering people, places and situation. There is also medication one can take to manage their daydreams. Although Maladaptive Daydreaming cannot be diagnosed yet by professionals we want to approach it with an open mind, and enjoyed exploring it with you.

My insight about this topic is that I sometimes experience Maladaptive Daydreaming. After researching what is Maladaptive daydreaming I slowly relate to it. When I'm listening to my teacher my mind will just drift into something, imagining myself going out and shopping. And sometimes It's hard for me to snap back to reality, that's why after the discussion I feel like I didn't understand anything. I think I do that when I'm bored or stress. Yesterday I have a class in my Math subject and our teacher revealed our grades. I wasn't satisfied with my grade so I was down. When it's time for our next subject I can't listen properly onto what my teacher is saying. My mind keep imagining that I'm really happy because my Math grade is 90 which is the opposite since my Math grade is not that high. I really want to listen but I just can't in the end our teacher finished her discussion and I didn't gain any information, because of my sudden daydreaming.

What other interesting facts do you know about Maladaptive Daydreaming? Do you also experience Maladaptive Daydreaming?. Share your thoughts in the comments and share my article , with your help we can reach more people to spread awareness on the mind and mental health issues. Thanks for reading stay safe XOXO💋

AUTHOR'S MESSAGE

Thank you for stopping by and taking time to read this article of mine, I hope you have a great time reading it. Sending my online hugs and kisses to all of you guyz my read.cash family.

as always,

susanavel2005

Article #63 (First for November)

November 25, 2022

Lead image is edited in the Canva App.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @alicecalope
Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for susanavel2005
1 year ago

Comments

Thank you for the mention.. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago