Super Typhoon Odette... What A Blast!!!

11 35
Avatar for susanavel2005
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Philippines

Annyenghaseyo read.casg chingus (it means HELLO MY READ.CASH FRIENDS) welcome back to my blog. I am back susanavel2005, it is been a long long long time my read.cash family since my last article was published. How are you all beautiful ladies and gentlemen? I am so sorry for being inactive these past weeks for this reason, literally the title of my article for today.

In this article, I will talk about how typhoon Odette hit our place and my experiences as well in this very tremendous moment in my 16 years of existence.

Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty

But before I start with my article let me introduce first my two awesomes sponsors. Please do visit them because they are so generous and you can relate to there articles. Thank you so much for the trust.

Prior to this article and the disaster that happened in my City, I had a hard time writing no specific topic came to my mind. Since my birthday is December 14 I thought that would be the best topic to write about. But before I finished it a super typhoon hit Philippines specifically Central Visayas, two days after my birthday December 16, 2021 to be exact.

While I am writing this article it's been TWENTY-FIVE DAYS to be exact after the typhoon. I cannot determine how I felt after the super typhoon. Will I be angry? To whom? It is the work of nature, no human being has the ability to prevent a storm from coming. So many thoughts came to my mind but I don't know where to start. Well, let me begin from DAY 1.

DECEMBER 16, 2021 that is the day when the news says that Super Typhoon Odette will landfall, and Cebu City will be hit specifically in Southern part of Cebu. As far as I know, Cebu City was not really a typhoon target because according to the elders here we are protected by the "Sagrada Familia-Senior Santo NiƱo, his mother Our Lady of Guadalupe and his father Saint Joseph." It's been awhile since Cebu City experience a typhoon, as per to my mother and grandmother the last super typhoon they remembered was Super Typhoon Yolanda, and it hardly hit Tacloban City, the place was somewhat vanished or washed out and it took 8 MONTHS to reconstruct the said City.

On that day the weather is fine and great there is no trace that there will a typhoon who came to visit us (hehehe) the sky is just overcast and I remembered clearly what my mother said "it will not hit here, it will deviate it's just the tail will hit us here." BUT during afternoon around 2:00 PM, it started to rain and there are some wind. Exactly 4:00 PM onwards the wind gradually picked up and there are some rains and theh declared SIGNAL NO. 3. The rest of our neighbors evacuated in the nearby school not because of the storm but because of the electric pole, it suddenly spark and there roofs and walls are started to ground. It is very frightening and dangerous because there are so many childrens and elders living in that area. Immediately we turned off our circuit breaker for prevention.

6:00 PM it was SIGNAL NO. 4 the storm is getting stronger and stronger and it is gonna be dangerous to us. It is not allowed to leave the anymore, the tree branches are starting to broke and there are other roofs that is flying and the trees are falling down. The wind was getting stronger every minute and we had no electricity the rain is also getting heavier but it did not take long because it stop for a moment afterwards is starting raining again. We were just inside the house watching the tree branches being rocked by Super Typhoon Odette, waiting to see if it would break or not. It is really, really bad because you can hear the sound of the wind, like she is really mad of something. I don't know how to explain it and I can'f find the exact word to describe it. So scary that is what I felt that time, especially at 8:00 PM. I really remembered that time because that's when the wind got really strong and the sound was so scary it looks like a final blow. It weakened around 10:00 PM and blew again at 11:00 PM after which it stopped, the surroundings became quiet.

our candle lit dinner

DECEMBER 17, 2021 when we woke up many emotions rushed to our tired faces, the horror of our surroundings, disbelief, the sadness and relieved that none of our family members got hurt. The big trees are down, the falling broken branches that went into the power cables, broken power poles, the roof and walls of our neighbors got detached because of the harsh wind last night. The problem was increased because the roofs that were blown off and removed were even stolen by some of the neighbors. Other houses got destroyed and pretty much nothing is left to them, while ours survived and thankfully nothing happened not even a single roof or wall was removed.

my brother and cousins took a picture before the storm

These are the results made by super typhoon Odette there is no forgiveness whether it is broken or not.

So far this is the worst experience I can say in my life. It is not casually happened here in Cebu City, the Cebuanos were torn apart. y a typhoon, we don't have electricity and water for almost 10 days (thank GOD our power came bavk on December 26 around 1:00 AM.) The roofs were torn, signals were sought and the gas stations were piled up, surprisingly all of the hotels were fully booked it only proved that Cebuanos are hard and gladiatorial. All of the people are having a hard time finding water regardless how far it is, can you imagine 500ML bottled water before the typhoon it costs only 10-15 pesos and the mineral water from refilling station costs 12-20 pesos per gallon. But after the typhoon the seller took advantage on the situation they sold it for 30-45 pesos per 500ML and 50-100 pesos per gallon. Imagine how much is the impact it had on the consumers but because it is badly needed we are forced to buy.

trouble finding water

We are accepting cellphone charging, flashlight, powerbank, rechargeable lights just for 15 pesos only and it is fully charged.

My brother and I tried to lined up in the refilling station around 5:00 AM hoping we can get a water but sad to say we reached the cut-off and were just given a number for tomorrow it is so tiring. We also tried to fetch water from the well for washing clothes and bathing. Mama, my brother and I woke up at 3:00 AM so that we would be the first to fetch water because when the sun is up many people will fetch water. It is a great experience really, I will never forget it in my entire life and if given a chance I will share this to my future children and grandchildren. I did not notice it getting too long what I was writing maybe you will get bored reading this, so I will stop here now.

Author's message:

Thank you for stopping by to read my article I hope you like it. I will very much appreciate it if you will visit my page. Sending my online hugs and kisses to all people who have subscribed my blog and always reading it. Also to my sponsors @Olasquare, @Kleah97, likers, commentors, readers, upvoters and to Random Rewarder. Good morning guys and keep safe everyone.

As always,

susanavel2005

January 10, 2022

Article #27 (1st for January)

Lead image from unsplash, the rest is mine.

4
$ 2.39
$ 2.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Winx1988
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of susanavel2005
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for susanavel2005
2 years ago
Topics: Story, Philippines

Comments

Good to know that you are safe sis. Grabe yung hagupit ng bagyong Odette. Praying for your town's fast recovery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe po talaga nakakapanlumo yung resulta. Salamat po sa pagpray.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know that you are safe sis. Hoping for the recovery of your town! Keep safe kayo jan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa ngayon po ate nakakabangon na namn yung ibang kabahayan may mga kuryente na yung iba ngalng wla pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unta, maka recover ramu dayun ara oy. Or atleast ang tubig aron Dli ra lisud and all basic necessities. maayo gani mi dri sa leyte nagka kuryente rami dayun oy.

Still thankful bisan galisud kay safe rami tanan.

Sending hugs to you author.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po sa karun may gani nana mi tubig tska kuryente pero katong uban wla pa gyud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka grabe jud sa damage na nabuhat ni Odette no? Daghan kaayong nangaguba na mga balay ug mga building. Sa ako papa ug kuya diha sa Cebu, washed out jud ang mga balay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao gyud ate washed out ang uban or ang nahabilin kay bungbong nalang maong louy gyud kaayo mga taga cebu karun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi ba, ako ate ug lola sa probinsya, natumbahan ug kahoy ang mga balay, Mao kay nasafety sila daan. Unta makabangon na tanan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

asa man ilaha sa South? mao may nagrabehan karn, bali sa yolanda sa una ba kay ang north man to ang nagrabe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Ginatilan sis, dayon ang akong kuya na nagubaan ug balay taga Sibonga

$ 0.00
2 years ago