How Does It Feel When You Becoming a New Parent During The Time Of COVID?

0 6
Avatar for sun430
Written by
3 years ago

 I was thinking of telling my story for a long time. I thought it would be better to narrate how it feels when you become a parent for the first time. What type of challenges will you face in this era of a pandemic. To become parents, during covid means no family and friend support. In June 2020, we welcomed our new baby. This was the first time of parenthood, she is our first child. We were so happy, but covid made this moment hard for us. locked us all in our house and make this moment horrible, specifically for me.

The Pre-Delivery Situation Of a New Mom To Be.

During my pregnancy duration, I experienced most of the worst pregnancy symptoms, for example, Sever morning sickness (hyperemesis gravidarum). It made life hell for me, couldn't eat anything, vomiting every time I ate anything. Heartburns also irritated me more. Also suffered from Constipation, leg cramps, insomnia, mood-swing, and remained afflicted with all other worst pregnancy symptoms. Some of the symptoms are common but, few moms can go through (hyperemesis gravidarum) estimated ten out of a hundred women suffer from severe vomiting. During this condition, my better-half helped me a lot. He endured more than me, took over everything by himself. He dealt with household chores and his official duties.

 The reason behind discussing this is that how the pandemic affected us. It directly touched us. We couldn’t seek support from anyone due to fear of covid. We couldn’t even move to the hospital, neither did a proper checkup, I had a single echography throughout my pregnancy period. We always remained concerned about the child inside my womb. Is she fine? Is everything going fine? How is her position? Is her growth going normal? Such questions always drove us worried. In such a situation, we could not move to the hospital. We were in touch with our doctor through the mobile phone, who informed us to visit the hospital only in case of emergency. Anyhow, the time has passed. I remained complete one year inside the home, which was an awful struggle for me. During the entire span of my pregnancy, I felt so tensed and depressed. That was a horrible experience of being a first-time mommy.

Post Delivery Situation Of New Parents/Mom. 

So finally the day arrived when we become a parent. God blessed us with an adorable baby girl, We were happy. We lingered at the hospital for three days. We were afraid of covid also, but thank God we were safe. Now the actual challenge starts for us to take care of a newborn baby. We don’t know how to take care of a newborn baby. That was wholly a laborious situation for both of us. The first three months were hard for us. When we reached home, at that moment I felt helpless because nobody was there except my husband. Only mothers can understand how it feels when you are all alone during your delivery. Especially the early two weeks are so painful for everyone. There was a minor surgery, with six stitches, I was not able to move "Those who had gone through such circumstances can feel my anguish and perceive how hard it is" so as I mentioned earlier that the first two weeks were so hard for us. I was Bleeding continuously, inflammation of the breast, perennial discomfort, leaky breast, fatigue, pain, and more. Thinking of all those moments makes me overwhelmed.

That was an awkward and scary situation because no one was there to encourage when needed someone. Even nobody from our family was there to back us. I missed my mom so much, wished she could be there with me or any female from our folk.

Few men face such situations as my better-half. He took a mother’s place. He was like a companion, a sister, as well as a mother-in-law, my everything. He performed his responsibility fully. He took good care of us. I am lucky to have him as a life partner. He handled every situation so effectively. He took good care of our baby. All the responsibility of our baby was on him for two weeks. He had a bath of our little one changed her diaper. Besides all those burdens on him, like looking after me and taking care of our little one, he likewise dealt with his official matter and other domestic matter. My partner goes through the same condition as I, which may be more than me.

However, the time has passed, everything heals with the flowing of life. So the situation continued for approximately three weeks after that everything becomes routine. Taking care of a baby is again a rigorous task. The crying of a baby throughout the night itself is truly dismaying. Loss of sleep makes a person even sicker. I Went through new mom’s post-pregnancy depression or postnatal depression. That was an onerous condition for us.

Anyhow, writing all this means that how this pandemic affects our lives unexpectedly. Covid made life upside down for us. Even our near ones couldn’t visit us during the most difficult situation when we need them. However, the year 2020 taught us that sometimes we have to cope with strenuous situations. We have to fight alone. We have all to go through all conditions on our own. As a new mom, everything was different for me. I got help mostly from social media and through YouTube and google.

-2
$ 0.00
Avatar for sun430
Written by
3 years ago

Comments