Let’s talk about mental health 🖤

0 15
Avatar for straizzer
3 years ago

Exactly 365 days ago, I found myself broken down completely and spent the next 3 weeks admitted in and out of 3 different hospitals. It’s been a year since that first day at SUMC yet sometimes I still couldn’t believe it really happened.. it’s been hell of a roller coaster ride but I’ve grown so much since then.

Talking about my mental health had been something I’ve always felt ashamed of. The thought of it always made me feel weak and incapable.. and this might also be the same for you. But the realization that this wasn’t the case didn’t come so easy. For that reason alone, support system becomes the most important thing. I know for most of us who struggle with our mental health, we push ourselves away from almost everything and everyone around us. And I know at times it can be hard but seeking help is better than a death bed. We might think no one would understand but trust me, there are really people who care and love us, and will really try their best to understand what we’re feeling and experiencing. And really, you’d be surprised with the number of people who genuinely care and are eager to help you.

Honestly I’ve been really anxious of talking about this so publicly. But after contemplating for days, I’ve decided to give this message and share a little bit of my story to encourage those who struggle with their mental health to open up and seek help. Depression shouldn’t be something to be ashamed of and it’s definitely not something people should easily dismiss. I know this post might take its toll on me in the future but the positive that might come out of this is greater than the risk of being judged.

So to all of you who needed to read this, YOU ARE NOT ALONE. I know at times it could feel numb and empty and it’s like nothing satisfies us anymore, but that does not mean we are bad or ungrateful. Depression makes us think irrationally. Remember that depression is an illness, just like any other illness like diabetes and cancer. So pleaseee.. don’t feel so bad to seek help and if you’re prescribed to drink meds for it, take them and follow your doctor’s orders, it’s part of the healing process and it really is okay not to be okay 🤍

To all who are reading this and are not struggling with their mental health, please check in on your friends and family because depression has many faces, it doesn’t look the same with everyone. There are those who choose to show and those who choose to hide. So ask your friends how they’re doing, ask about their mental state, or even just ask how their day was.. You might find yourself helping someone with just that simple question. :))

And finally, to those who have given me their undeniable support and understanding: my family, closest friends, and yes counselors and doctors too.. I owe this past year to all of you. If it had not been for the support I’ve been given, I wouldn’t be where I am today and for that I consider myself lucky ❤️ please know that I am forever grateful and I love you all so much!!!

#blessed #selflove #growth #depression #suicide

#MentalHealth #SuicidePrevention #MentalHealthAwareness

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for straizzer
3 years ago

Comments