Trust Wallet Scammers on Twitter

0 64
Avatar for stevenvanelk
2 years ago

This week I made the mistake of tweeting about an issue I was experiencing with Trust Wallet. I didn't think much would come of it, but I was hoping that Trust Wallet and Pancake Swap might see the tweet and comment on the issue or just secretly fix whatever was going on. What I wasn't expecting was that I'd get tweets from accounts trying to to gain access to my Trust Wallet. There were two types of accounts that tweeted at me. One was an account that just looked like a normal user who wanted to help me out by sending me a link to Trust Wallet support. The other was accounts that were set up to look like they were official Trust Wallet support accounts who also sent me links to sites set up to look like Trust Wallet support. Whether the link cam from a normal looking account or from an account that was pretending to be Trust Wallet support, they inevitably lead to the same place. That place was a Google Doc that asked questions about you and your problem and then at the bottom requested that you give them the 12 recovery phrases associated with your Trust Wallet.

I didn't give anyone the 12 recovery phrases associated with my Trust Wallet. I did click on some of the Google Docs links to see what they looked like. This is what they looked like:

Here's what the scammer twitter accounts looked like:

A few people slid into my DMs and pretended to be a bit more human. They asked questions about the problems I was experiencing and asked for personal info about me. The first few I blocked, but then I just gave out some fake info to one of them. That guy said to help me he'd just need to know my recovery pass phrases and he could take care of the problem. I blocked him after that. I am pretty flabbergasted to find out how many people are just waiting to try to scam people out of their money. I guess I'm a little naive. I've just never had this problem when tweeting at banks or credit card companies. Stay safe out there.

Thanks for reading. I am a full time wedding photographer with Van Elk & Co who also makes a comedy podcast about running a wedding photography business called the Wedding Photo Hangover.

1
$ 0.65
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stevenvanelk
2 years ago

Comments