The Norm

0 11

"You should forgive your enemy because even God forgives His people." is the most brain-dead norm statement I have ever heard in my life. I would never forgive someone because I know in myself that they only use their "sorry" as a permit to be able to do the bad things again. They are not really sorry at all.

In such places, there are a lot of forms of normal versus unusual situations. As humans, we often build our own concepts of right and wrong. Most of the time, when we think about the wrong part, we refer to the actions that harm other people's lives or minds or to the actions that don't fit inside the box. These actions are always based on how different it is from the usual beliefs we had ever since we step foot in the world.

We understand that social norms might have nonsocial roots. Any present-day human behavior is influenced by a number of factors —Individual, familial, community, societal, governmental, and economic factors – as well as current events – are all factors to consider. At multiple levels, prior factors impact the outcome.

As I was browsing my younger brother's school lessons, I noticed one thing that is built inside the minds of younger ones to the point that if this will continue, it will be their perspective in life. The lesson talks about introducing the student and one part of it is to say the name of the father as well as his occupation. Technically, there is nothing wrong with that kind of mindset. Biologically speaking, there is a father and a mother figure on a child, however, the concern is that not every child is living with their father or mother. Reasons may vary according to what the family has experienced. On our side, my brother and I had not seen our father ever since the pandemic happened. And by that, we consider our mother to be both the father and the mother of this family. Of course, it was a painful experience for the three of us but at some point, it isn't right for a student to write down the name of the parent if it brings a bad flashback. My little brother doesn't like to talk about my father anymore, as I do. My reason is that I get that "high blood pressure" feeling to the point that I will just start crying. I don't know my brother's reason because I don't want him to think about these things at a younger age.

My point is that people need to open their minds when it comes to personal perspectives. Not everyone lives, what is considered to be, "normal" life, where you have a father and a mother that is with you as you grow up. It is not the kid's fault that something bad happened between their parents so why make them suffer. I may be over-exaggerating but I know and understand other people's feelings when it comes to family matters.

The majority of people do not consider their family to have a "culture." Children are shaped by the family culture into which they are born in both direct and indirect ways. As they get older, their perceptions of what is right and wrong, good and evil, reflect the family's views, values, and traditions. The family's values establish the tone for the family's foundation. Families bring the rules of behavior that have governed the family culture with them when they establish foundations.

One norm in the family that I am having a hard time understanding is to respect the elders. I believe that we should respect those who are respectable. Not because one is at such age that we automatically have to keep our composure when we are having an argument to the point that instead of correcting the wrong, we shut ourselves down because we are acting rude in front of the elders. I have family members that I consider are respectable and I gave them the respect that they need to have. Although at some point, my mother always tells me to be humble and always do the right thing, I know that in her mind, she just wants us to be kind people even when other people don't want to. I think that these elder ones who consider themselves superior don't want to listen to an opinion that is totally different from them. When younger ones talk about the argument they are having, doesn't mean that they have no respect and that they are in denial. They are voicing out something you have to know in order for you to understand why something happened.

Not because you have lived longer doesn't mean you know better.

When this cultural type of family establishes a foundation, trustees are subjected to the same demands for compliance. In most cases, there is little to no debate, and fresh voices or opinions on subjects are prohibited.

When it comes to love, you have to know that there is no gender involved. I am a Catholic person but I believe that marriage should not be between a man and a woman but between two people who are willing to share the rest of their lives with one another.

The things that I don't understand in society when it comes to love (and marriage) is, first, they allow child marriage. Although I know that many people get angry when they see a child getting married to a man because it's part of their "tradition" and we should respect it, I see little to no people debating about it to the point that it needs to stop. Besides the fact that instead of a child enjoying his or her youth and doing the stuff he or she wants to do before becoming an adult, there are many cases of deaths regarding this matter. According to a new Save the Children report released on International Day of the Girl, more than 22,000 girls die each year as a result of pregnancy and childbirth caused by early marriage. Because their bodies aren't ready to have children, childbirth is the leading cause of death among adolescent females. The health hazards associated with children having children can't and shouldn't be overlooked.

The other thing is that people seem to normalize cheating to the point that loyalty is becoming a goal in a relationship when it should be a standard. The thing is that when men do it, people consider it as "normal" behavior of a man because his girl doesn't provide for his needs. For any reason, cheating is never okay. Whether cheating is being done by a man or a woman, there is no excuse for it to be considered a good thing to do. When you know you are already suffering from a relationship, physically, mentally, or spiritually, better get out of it in a legal manner. I don't believe in one article that says that women cheat because they lack empathy from their partner because something happened. Regardless of gender, we should never be okay with cheating.

We may believe that some social rules are harmful to particular people, but they should be beneficial to the community as a whole. Norms keep society in order. It's hard to imagine how human civilization might function without social standards. Norms have an impact on how we interact with one another and, as a result, on the outcome of group engagement.

However, in the most ways possible, we must understand each individual we have in society. We should consider the fact that not all of us wear the same shoes and we step on the same ground.

1
$ 0.89
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments