The Importance of Trees

0 26
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago

As someone living in the province and then suddenly transitioning to the urban area, I can guarantee that trees are very much more important than we think they are. I think with all the science and stuff of how trees work and how they help us with our everyday lives, the general factor of their existence can be understood by many. However, due to the modernization and urbanization of most places, the lack of understanding is not brought to many people, especially those who don't want to understand it.

During my stay in the province, we really do have a lot of trees. There is not one area where you can roam around without seeing a single tree. At first, I really didn't bother having one or not, maybe because I used to see them most of my life.

When I got into high school, we had to ride a school bus on the way to school because it is really far and the road to get there is not that easy, especially for those who are just new in the area. There are a lot of accidents that kept happening there up until now. Anyways, the journey to school was actually cute because you get a breath of fresh air, which probably happens most of the time because the pollution in the area is not that high. Students are presented in the area where trees are the king of the jungle.

However, I didn't realize the importance of being in an area filled with trees, not until I went to college. Since college is in the city which was like a 4-5 hour ride, I had to stay with my grandparents, the grandfather is the sibling of my grandmother from my so-called father's side. Don't get me wrong, I had been in and out of the city and I saw things that will never make me live in the city for the rest of my life, but the fact that I had to stay there for two years really made me contributed more to why I will never stay in that area. Although there are a lot of opportunities, and people may be immune already to the environment, the confidence of my immune system will never get through there.

I can now understand why people living in the city when they go to provinces, feel relaxed because of the air. It's like heaven for them. I did feel that same approach when I went home during the pandemic. It's like carrying a big load of luggage and then finally putting everything down to at least breathe.

Trees don't only make the environment look beautiful. I know for some, get scared by many trees because you will not know what is behind those giant things or who is hiding there, but, generally speaking, trees makes the picture worth more than a billion dollars.

There is a lot of debate regarding deforestation. There's one scene in the court where a senator was imposing to not make areas, especially farmlands, not be taken over by other people to be converted into subdivisions. It may speak to farms and farmers but the fact that there are areas where trees are being cut down for business purposes is never a good thing. Although I do use things and equipment made from trees, those who are making businesses out of them must ensure that they plant another one rather than leaving them blank.

The results may not be seen as of now, but since trees require years to grow to giants or average, it will not help many people by the time we are waiting for them to grow back.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago

Comments