The Importance of That Mask You Wear

0 18

We all tend to show a different profile of ourselves, depending on the type of people we are currently talking or interacting with. We are all different from one another. And by different, I meant, we are different from who we show to other people. Some of you may see me as a good writer and some find my articles badly written. Some of you may be jolly to your friends and some are walking red flags. Just like celebrities, we live differently on and off-camera.

Personally, I tend to be a different person in a new situation. It just so happens that I don't want other people to know me, even if I share a lot of things with them, but not to the point that I lie about my experiences. Transitioning to college, I met a lot of people with who I became friends, but not that close. As a student who takes irregular classes, I go to different classes with different people in different courses. It's really a hard thing to do, especially since they are all in different auras and I don't want to be the center of attention because they might think of me as a show-off or pick-me person. But when I have the chance to talk to the person beside me, I make conversations that will go along with their personality. For example, I went to a class of communications where students are seen to be as good at speaking so the confidence is really up to par. And one thing that I noticed is that when it comes to activities, they want to be precisely on point. So when I ask questions or open a topic, I look for debatable questions where they can answer any of the two alongside their reasons. It's not that hard for me because I am a programming student so it's basically a math problem where 1 + 1 = 2 and nothing more.

What I experienced is like a driven trigger from being nervous because you are surrounded by super-competitive people. Mental anguish can occasionally help you get through a difficult circumstance, but if left uncontrolled, it can have a negative impact on your physical and emotional health. Perhaps you went to a very prestigious university in which you have to work the majority of your period to achieve. Alternatively, it's possible that your mom and dad had great expectations for you and encouraged you to work hard to attain them.

We have a "real" face. The face that we show our friends is totally different from the face we show our parents because we are all wearing a mask. We change this mask depending on where we are, who we are talking to and what we are currently doing. We take off this mask when we are comfortable because we don't have to be another person having another personality. Our selfish character is our ego. In everything, we want to have our way. We consider ourselves to be apart from the real world. There is only our 'ego' world.

There is a Japanese belief where people have three faces. "The first face, you show to the world. The second face, you show to your close friends and your family. The third face, you never show anyone. It is the truest reflection of who you are."

Think of yourself as a famous and award-winning actor who has been in the spotlight ever since you step-foot in the limelight. Every time you go to an interview, you have to smile. People value smile because it's one of the ways that you can tell a celebrity is entertaining and that's what matters the most. Even if you are battling a difficult problem at home, you can never bring it in front of the camera, unless told so by the management. The public personality always has to be a good image, otherwise, it will just sink like the titanic. No celebrity desires to be despised by their fans or supporters or even strangers, so they cultivate a nice, better reputation.

After that interview, you go home to your family. They see you as a different person again. They may have watched your interview and believed in it and some do not. Chances are you are that child who made your parents proud and you want to make them smile by giving the best in every role you portray. For most Asians, there is always a family with conservative parents. I have a strict mother so the idea of being a good girl always has to be present. Friends will always be different since this is like an escaping room from the child you want your parents to see. No matter how tiny the decision or how huge the danger, humans adapt and learn on a regular basis. We wouldn't want to be criticized or marginalized. Most people are wary of loneliness that they fail to win their presence and blend in with the crowd.

After having dinner with the family, you go to bed and look at the ceiling. You ask yourself many different things. This is where the real "you" comes in. This is the time you are enjoying your company and not bothering what anyone will tell you. The majority of people never even come close to seeing this face. And those who witness it are sometimes terrified of what it really looks like. I sense we are afraid of within us, which is why we devote more attention towards the other two surfaces than from our most essential face, the true side of us.

We may not like the mask we wear but at most times, we tend to wear it to make a living or to show people how kind we are. I don't like wearing masks too but if I show people my true personality, they may find me boring. In this generation, it's hard to interact when you are an introvert. Even though people are so attached to their phones, it's not always the case when you are doing something to put food on the table. It's not etiquette, it's just something that matters.

2
$ 1.70
$ 1.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ewyr

Comments