The Importance of Lent Season

0 30
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Lent, Christianity, Life, Story, Writing, ...

Lent came from the English word "Lengthen", which is a period of 40 days to remember the events prior to the death of Jesus Christ, including His death itself. Lent starts with Ash Wednesday. Ash Wednesday is an important day because it teaches us how privileged people can be and how we can use this privilege to help other people through prayers.

So why do Christians celebrate Lent? What is the most important lesson that we can get by celebrating such a period?

Lent is the Christian celebration that precedes the Epiphany Season. It's a day we withheld every year to commemorate Divine love. Christians who embrace Lent often make a concerted effort to sacrifice or give up a habit or something. On Fridays, devout Lent adherents abstain from eating meat, preferring instead to consume fish. These religious practices are intended to deepen the observer's spirituality and establish stronger contact with God.

Lent is a symbol of sacrifice. In Christianity, we are taught about how Jesus Christ sacrificed himself for our own sake. When Jesus was out in the New Testament, Satan urged Him to move away from Faith and glorify him rather, but Jesus resisted, hence why individuals may give up anything to put their own consciousness to the strain. Satan used all of his strengths to convince Jesus to worship him but he failed. During that 40-day giving of temptations, Jesus never failed to think about the other way even when He was presented with so many "luxurious" things.

We often do sacrifices. It may be big or small but at the end of the day, it differs between how the impact will change our lives.

I am always fascinated by the fact that Jesus has been sacrificing everything throughout His life. I mean, during those times, He can easily pick or choose something that will benefit Him like having a habit of fishing or going out with friends, but no, He chooses what is best for everybody. Up until His last breath, He chose the sake of mankind.

I actually have a story about sacrifice but it's not that big.

One thing that I always regret is the fact that I follow what society says rather than my happiness. When I was in Senior High School, I have a lot of options on my sleeves. We took a test to see what courses can we get based on how we answered some easy questions. I have a lot of things going through my mind at that time. At some point, I wanted to take up law. However, I didn't want to bring the burden of being shy and not being able to speak up for myself so I didn't do it. Although I have a lot of dreams that I want to do when I think about becoming a lawyer, I was not as confident as I should be. So my next choice was Film Making. I do love video editing and I love making stories whenever a group project is about making a short film. But I will never forget what my mother told me when I said to her that I want to be a director. She said that I should pick something that by the end of the college year, I am sure that I will make money out of it. Maybe her perspective on directors isn't that big because, somehow, the entertainment industry directors don't make a lot of money. I felt a bit down when I heard that but at that time, I didn't let it all make me feel disappointed. Maybe now, as I am looking back, I should have been in a happier place if I followed that dream.

Yes, I do love my course, but at some point, I am not happy with it. I feel like I'm just doing these things because they should be done. I am not the same person when I entered college, hoping that someday I will get food on the table and more food for the other day. It's kind of rude on my part because one thing that I should never have a problem with is the privilege that I have to be in school. Like not everybody can go to school, I always have to be thankful for what I have been given.

Right now, even if I am already on the last leg in college, I am finding a hard time trying to figure out what is waiting for me. I am not losing hope but of course, we can't find happiness in something that we are just forced to do.

2
$ 2.00
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Lent, Christianity, Life, Story, Writing, ...

Comments