The Importance of Holy Week

0 28
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, 2022, ...

It felt a bit different this time. I wouldn't say that I felt the same feeling that I'm supposed to be having despite being still in the pandemic but I still had that same wish.

Holy Week week encompasses Palm Sunday and Easter in the Christian church, and it is marked with extra pomp and circumstance as a season of commitment to Jesus Christ's Passion. In the fourth century, St. Athanasius, bishop of Alexandria, and St. Epiphanius of Constantia coined the term Holy Week. Wednesday was established as the day the Judas intended to disobey Jesus, as well as the other days of the week, were introduced by the beginning of the following century.

On Sunday, we went to Church. During the Homily, the priest said something about Magdalene. Oftentimes, almost everybody portrays her as someone who "sells" her body. If we are to talk about that during this generation, and maybe other generations, those who "sell" their body for a living are often put down by society. They think of them as people who are very dirty in life and will "never" change despite moving into a different job. The priest said that we should stop referring to Magdalene as that kind of person, but rather she should be called the Apostle to the Apostles. We all know that she is the first person to witness the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

One thing that I noticed with the Homily is that it teaches us that we should often look at why things happen in life. Yes, Mary Magdalene has been pictured as a "not-so-good" woman and was even one of the most controversial figures in the Bible's history but there's more to it. Mary Magdalene was a Galilean lady from Magdala, a little fishing village. She is depicted as the only disciple who properly comprehends Jesus' message of peace in the Gospel of Mary, which isn't really fully recognized by the Church, putting her in direct confrontation with the apostle Peter.

Personally, I don't blame people who go into that "industry" and I am hating them. I don't see them as "dirty" or someone who is below the pyramid. I don't think people really want to be in that kind of job, however, there are circumstances in life and we should be open-minded about these things. There are people who are "forced" into that kind of business wherein some evil soul must have sold them to another evil soul or they have to pay their debts and it's their only way to have money. It's not on the same level as someone who is a thief or politicians who are corrupt. They don't steal money. They do their "service" and they get paid for it, just like everybody else. Although I don't see myself going into that business I support them, as long as they are not harming themselves and everybody else.

Another thing that is slightly controversial is the self-flagellation. Now, I am really not against it but it seems that my mother is. She said that "They are only hurting their selves.", which in my translation is she is definitely not into it. From my research, the Catholic doesn't officially sanction self-flagellation or self-mortification, however, some Popes are already in favor of it. I have seen videos in some areas where a priest completely shuts off the Church because those people involved in it are making their way inside. Of course, there was a negative reaction from the people and honestly, I am with them. I mean, even Judas who betrayed Jesus was accepted so how come these people who have "religious vows" are not?

As always, there are two sides to any story. We should always open our minds when things aren't in our favor. That, I think, is the spirit of the Holy Week.

2
$ 0.86
$ 0.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for stellaluna
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Experiences, 2022, ...

Comments