The Deadlines

0 16

At 21, you're supposed to land a job that has that income to support you and your family.

At 25, you're supposed to have a relationship to build up for future marriage.

At 30, you're supposed to get married and start your own family.

Have these statements ever come across you whenever you talk to people? Have they ever said that you're supposed to do things based on your age and not your ability and capability to do so?

People expect us to have or be the norm, instead of asking what we want to do.

Before going to college, I had this exam where we are being examined to where and what path in life we should be based on the answers to every set of questions. I had a lot of jobs that I fell into after the exam.

The first job that I wanted was to be a lawyer. I think it was so cool and such an intelligent job to land on. Of course, I was always thinking of what personality type I should be before having that decision but I didn't take the chance to think about the journey. I am not the kind of person that sees through the line before even judging it, positively and negatively wise speaking. Lawyers should have that confidence and intelligence since you're fighting, not only for the entitlement but for the sake of the client as well. Growing up, I am very shy, up until now, and I didn't have that motivation to at least practice so that shyness will run out of me. Guess it's part of being introverted and some people will judge you based on your reaction and not on the reasons why you reacted like that.

The second option was to become a Nun. Now this one, I said it to my family. Don't get me wrong, my mother is the best but not the relatives we have. When I had the chance to talk about this one, they were not a fan of it. They even talked to me about this certain person where he became a Priest but decided to leave because of falling in love with a woman. Now, at some point, I don't see anything wrong with that. "If that's God's call to him, then so be it." The worst is is that if he stayed in being a priest while being in love with a woman and started committing sins against the rules. But then again, I started thinking about it and things changed.

My last option is the course that I am in right now. However, I can probably say that I like my course but do not exactly love it. There's a big difference in that.

At 21, I still think about how I should have been into another course. But even though I know I still have time, I think that it's already too late to start over again. I think I just wasted around 4 years of my life doing something I'm not passionate about.

I am always fascinated by filmmaking. However, a loved one said that "You should pick a course where you will land a job surely after college." That statement didn't get into me that badly when I first heard it but right now, it upsets me that I shouldn't have listened.

Other people might have experienced what I had, and it's infuriating when you live in a such judgemental society.

The fact that people have their timeline, and they are trying to get that same timeline into yours is never a good idea. Some people are slow learners, some people don't have the confidence that is needed in life and some are still thinking about what they want to do. We must always consider a person and not look at them based on how we want to.

It doesn't matter what age you are sitting in right now, it matters your choices and how it affects you.

Things like these are not being overdramatic, it's called having that inner peace that is that easily burst out since other people don't want to hear it. If we force someone to do things they don't want to, it will lead to depression, which, by the way, is a real thing.

What are your deadlines in life, based on how society looks at it?

1
$ 0.35
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments