My Experience with the K-12 Program

2 27
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago
Topics: Study, School, Truth, History, Personal, ...

K-12 might not be one of the solutions to the ongoing rant about applying for a job in the Philippines because most companies or employers look for people to have a Bachelor's degree in a specific field. Fresh graduates are welcome to apply to most companies, even though some are in competition with those who have work experience.

I was one of the products of the K-12 program. I was one of the first batches to graduate from such a specific area. Honestly, I didn't really know anything about the program. I just knew that it has to be implemented at that time and in return we will have an access to gain the National Certification and at the same time, work in a company or industry to do hands-on in terms of the track we are enrolled in.

I actually liked the experienced I had during those times. I got to work in a respectable and reputable company called "Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar". It was a 2-week work and we are introduced to several different departments since we are entitled to different courses in the Tourism industry. At first, I was in the Events Management department but instead of actually doing paper-works or doing something for an event, I was assigned to be a waitress. It was really tiring because there were a lot of people and it was my first time waiting for people. Actually, the waiting or serving part was not the hardest part but rather when you are in the back, wiping plates because that is when you will feel the exhaustion. We were told that we are not allowed to sit down so when we are standing up and wiping with a cloth, we will feel our legs, in like a painful manner. We also had to take our lunch late since the event requires a lot of manpower. Then we have to work in the Front Office Area. It was not what I was expecting but it was a good experience though. The best part was actually presenting the map of the place to the guests. I got to somehow strengthen my knowledge when it comes to English because there were tons of foreign guests and I was able to speak to them. Although I felt the pressure because the script is originally in Tagalog but then again, in the heat of the moment, you just have to cross the bridge. The third area was the Photography area. I was not really a fan of that part but we got to somehow do photographs of the area which was a good thing. I have taken photos that I am really proud of and the chance to really touch a camera was an exciting moment. The last part was to be in the Tour Guiding industry. I didn't expect that I would like it because I am not a fan of memorizing things and at the same time, being "intelligent" in that area because questions will come and go from time to time. And there were a lot of names and places that were included so that was the hardest part of the challenge. However, it was the part where I was challenged in a way that I questioned myself on how did I do it.

Out of the four departments and tracks I took in Senior High School, as we live in a province where it is really hard to find an organization that will provide access to the National Certificates, only two were given to us. I got really excited when I was handed the certifications but at the same time, I thought that this isn't the path I really want in life. Yes, there are opportunities out there but the experience and knowledge I gained in that area were not enough for me to be able to get into a company.

I knew that I have to be in college after high school because I want to pursue a passion for technology. I know that my parents are not really a fan of what I chose but I'm glad that they didn't interfere in any form or manner.

But all in all, I would say that the K-12 Program was not really a good thing for most or possibly all students who have taken it. The people I know who went into the program, and who also decided to not continue to college, are currently not working in connection to the tracks that they had during their Senior High School days. I can say that they might have learned things from their studies and hands-on but it wasn't enough.

Companies are still looking for college graduates. Work experience is a plus or even required for some but having a college degree does say a lot about the candidate. There are employers who are willing to have candidates without prior knowledge since they can provide training, which is a good thing in most circumstances.

I just hope that people who went to the K-12 program will not get into any negativity from the ongoing news of pulling out the program.

4
$ 1.04
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
$ 0.01 from @Unity
Avatar for stellaluna
1 year ago
Topics: Study, School, Truth, History, Personal, ...

Comments

K-12 education is the backbone of a country's future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa ako sa mga pioneer ng k+12 na nagiba naman ng landas pagdating college haha. From ABM to media and communication course real quick haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago