Is the Korean Entertainment Industry a Threat to the Philippine Cinema?

1 35

Recently, numerous netizens, ranging from teens to adults, have spoken about their negative and positive reactions regarding the supposed ban on Korean dramas in the Philippines. It caused fans to have disappointment in Senator Estrada because of the ban showing how the local Filipino entertainment projects are being forced on the audience.

Personally, the ban isn't the answer to why Filipino movies or television shows are not being appreciated well by the mass.

I prefer Japanese movies more than I look into local movies, specifically the J-horror genre. What I like about the genre of the J-horror classics like Audition, Cure, or Ju-on: The Curse is that it doesn't end there. It isn't the kind of movie that will get you to sleep and make you watch other succeeding films or rather watch it again to understand the whole story. Most Filipinos, especially the adults, don't really like that kind of plot. They prefer movies that will not bother them after they watch them. They want to have that mental peace after watching a film or television series. That is why Fernando Poe, Jr.'s films are all appreciated by then and now because of his films end in a good manner. However, that plot line doesn't want to be seen in horror films. That is why horror films must have an ending that no one will expect, which is happening in most J-horror films.

I cannot speak for the mass because I have a different position when it comes to what most Filipinos like and don't like. However, I am in a neutral state that banning foreign films and TV shows just so Filipinos can appreciate local ones will not address the elephant in the room.

In my opinion and perspective, I do prefer Filipino movies from before. I am not saying that I don't watch the new ones but rather if I were to choose between "Kisapmata" or "Hello, Love, Goodbye", I will choose Kisapmata. But it will not hinder me to watch the other movie because I am optimistic about other genres as well. The thing I like about Kisapmata is that it's a psychological thriller which is my favorite genre of film. And isn't just about killing and stuff, it's that controversial plot line that I like and also because it's inspired by that one crime report before in the 80s.

Now, I'm not saying that Hello, Love, Goodbye is not a good film. I have people tell me that it is a good film because I don't think it's just romance alone but rather sacrifices and struggles as well. It's one of the highest-earning movies in Philippine cinema so it is well-loved by the mass.

As time pass by, we have to look at how people see their favorites, whether it is a movie or TV series, or music.

What I think is the solution to the problem of how local entertainment projects can be well received by the audience is looking into the competition. If the government sees the K-dramas as a threat or a competition, they can research how Koreans do their stories. For example, if the mass is like a plot where two people meet again after decades, and then there's a twist on why they can't be together, the local producers and writers can make a project out of it but not the same thing they have seen before. Most of the k-drama actors and actresses are loved by the audience, and at first, I thought it was because of how good-looking they are but no. It's about the impact they give on the audience.

I have seen reviews of how people dive into a movie or series and the acting performance is one of the boxes to tick. The movie, "The Whole Truth", lacks that acting impact, for me, and for some that have seen the movie. I think films, even now still have flaws that can still be saved. However, the story of the movie, up until the end scene, is what I loved which is why I can consider it a favorite. I haven't seen a movie like that in comparison to the movies I have watched before. The potential of that kind of plot is what everyone will like in the future.

If we are to be appreciated by the public, we have to change or improve ourselves, and not blame other people for what we lack.

3
$ 0.72
$ 0.72 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

It is very funny that I heard that they will ban Korean Dramas because the audience of Filipino Dramas are shorter than K-drama. I agree with you that they will research how K-dramas do to make their dramas good, but not in a way that they will replicate how K-dramas act. Examples are like the scenes of both dramas are the same. So, maybe using some ideas from K-dramas on how they perform can boost Filipino Dramas' audience. Not by just banning them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago