Does Technology Makes People Intelligent?

1 28

Whenever we speak about technology, we're talking about finished items. It might be a mechanical device or anything made to confine stuff. I've been introduced to the world through technology since I was a child, and I've already been exposed to a wide range of things. When my mother was still working for the government, I recall playing Super Mario on a computer and some Pokémon games. However, it was the transition from floppy disks to flash drives that piqued my interest in the realm of technology.

Technology expands opportunities for progress and enables humans to carry out tasks that they would not be able to undertake otherwise. For example, we rarely need to travel to a library to read books because practically all books can be accessed on the internet. Because cabinets and drawers were developed, our garments would not be heaped in several locations. We don't have to suffer through excessive heat since we have fans and air conditioners to keep us cool. The water we drink will no longer be as polluted. The food we buy at the market or grocery store has been thoroughly cleaned and prepared.

However, technology somehow doesn't stop there. Properties must be created, developed, and produced not only is information or method necessary for the creation of objects, but rather for subsequent usage. The volume and complexity of hardware vary. A typewriter is worthless and cumbersome unless it is used by someone who actually understands how to type, much at will comprehend.

Let's try to look at the advantages, at the same time the disadvantages of technology because these two are partners in crime:

  • It gives solutions to problems

    • Most businesses or anything related to business use emails, or electronic mails. Unlike before, even though I didn't experience writing a letter and then waiting for weeks or months before getting an answer-back, today's emails are very much faster. I can easily send a Curriculum Vitae to a business email to apply for a job that I saw on an online platform and it doesn't take me too much time to be in the company itself, as well as money to take a bus to go there. Another advantage of technology is the entertainment it gives. We can easily watch movies that are being released without going to a local cinema. For me who lives in a province that doesn't even have a mall or a theater, it is really hard to watch movies. Although I don't watch movies, unless they are from my favorite directors or an indie film, for those people in my generation, having a nearby mall will easily help them. There is so much more to the picture to talk about.

    • On the other hand, since it gives solutions, it also creates problems. One thing that I don't like about technology is that when it comes to devices, kids are not anymore interested to go outside and make friends, most of the time. And because of this, they are being exposed to a mature world where they are not allowed to be, up to the point that they became victims of a world that are supposed to protect them. There are many cases of online bullying, I experienced it myself. There are many cases of inappropriate child videos that are roaming around the internet. And there are many cases of child negative assaults because the innocence of these kids is being taken away. There is no control being given to people because those who consider themselves that are "higher" only care about the profit.

  • It provides better communication

    • The method individuals connect has been transformed by technology. People may communicate with one other from anywhere in the world, building ties and removing concerns coupled with prolonged conversation. The contemporary telephone is indeed not easily accessible, but it also has enhanced functions and capabilities. Mobile phones are frequently used to transmit and receive information and digital copies of images, boosting the quantity of information available on the internet. Personally, I have a pen pal from Australia that I met through an online platform and we are sending and receiving emails using Gmail. It allowed finding new friends since I am not an outside person so I don't have friends here and I don't want to be that alone sometimes so I find ways to communicate with other people. Our communication does have breakdowns but the most important thing is we keep each other updated, not only on personal matters but also on important news from each other's place.

    • However, my issue with this type of communication is that words are not very impressive and are not trustworthy. People can say I love you through text messages and not really mean it. The expression of feelings is not that true to the point that most people are getting "scammed" and they easily trust people. When this happens, they are like going to a Vietnam war rabbit hole out in the middle of nowhere and it might be hard to turn back faster. Because technology is rapid and immediate, it also compromises the accuracy of the message to be delivered. There might be occasions when such mood and intention of a message are misinterpreted. And as I have experienced, social isolation is very fragile so when it breaks, it can never be glued together again. As I said, I don't have friends and I don't have people to talk to regularly so I keep on thinking scenarios, fiction or not, to the point that I will just experience a mental breakdown.

There are many more things that technology does.

Actually, it's not technology's fault that these negative things happen. It's the people who use them. And we can't easily blame people if they tend to isolate themselves from reality, especially if reality is what makes them sad and depressed. And yes, depression is a real case.

What do you think about the innovation of technology?

3
$ 2.17
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I could help us become more intelligent if we use it right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago