Does Age Matter in a Relationship?

0 16

You know the saying, "Age doesn't matter.". You probably heard this a million times, either by verbal communication or online surfing. The sentence goes on, not only in romantic relationships but also, in other situations.

I enjoy talking more to older people than I am with people my age. It might be awkward since most of the time when I try to talk to people close or at my age, I seem to get out of topics, especially in the part of dating and hanging out during free times, since I don't do that in most occasions. I know that I should be spending time to at least enjoy my youth and do something productive rather than sitting around at my house, hunting for jobs, watching movies, learning new things on Udemy, and writing stuff. However, I have to explain that I am an introvert and part of that is having social anxiety. I lose that battery of enjoyment and happiness easier and faster whenever I'm around people. One time, our university had this set of bands participate in a rock and roll performance in school, and instead of me, getting excited about it, the first thing I thought is I get to get home early and just relax on my own. It is hard for me to party, maybe on the fact that there are many people there and I don't like that kind of situation. Also, the second day it happened, I have a 6 pm class and my friends said that we can just ignore one meeting and we will be alright but I don't have time for that so I got to my class instead. Now, my point is, instead of me hanging around with teenagers for the college experience, I am thinking about future things.

Another experience to tell you is that I once got into a dating app where you will meet people around the world. And in this app, you have the choice of preference where you can pick the distance and age of who you want to chat with. And I picked the range between 25 - 40, rather than 18 - 25 since I'm 19 at that time. And most men I chatted with at that time seem pretty good, but I also have to say that some are not an ideal chat for me because of offensive jokes and stuff like that.

Getting into a relationship with an older person, like the age gap is somewhere between 7 years and up, always must have a responsibility to take.

I watched an episode of a local TV show where a girl who is below legal age, got pregnant, and the father is already in his 60's. At first, it seems something was going on because of the way she said it. I got a little bit angry with the audience's reaction to her but I didn't mind them that much. The point of the girl is that since she got pregnant first with a guy who completely went off after finding out the situation made her want to look for someone to have that affection and safety, so technically she already has 2 kids for now. I stood by their relationship since, according to the girl, he helped her with everything she needed to survive she can't have a proper job to support her and her baby because of her age and lack of someone who will somehow help her. I didn't know if her parents are still around so I have no clue if she got helped by her relatives. Sadly, the old man died because of illness but I got happy for her since at least for some time in her life she experienced being loved and have that support she needs.

On the other hand, if the older person, regardless of gender, does nothing but harm the younger partner, it is a serious case to talk about. If you've watched the 3096 days movie in which a little girl got kidnapped and locked in until the girl managed to escape, that's the most chilling thing. The man wanted the girl to be his wife so he waited until she was able to know mature things, but the fact that he did such things most brutally is never a good idea. Controlling younger people because you know you have an edge from age to strength-wise is mortifying.

People must always look at left and right. It should never be " It's either my way or the highway." There's a lot of considerations to make to do a peaceful argument. Just like in the movie I mentioned, the man should have just waited for the girl properly, like she will grow old with her mom, and if the time comes that she understood and learn things, then he might take his chance. If she says no, then go away already.

You might know a lot of couples who had a very wide age gap. But I think, the thing is not always with age, it's about trust, honesty, and love itself. But at the same time, age somehow defines the capability of a person.

Things like this may be hard to explain to society but who are they to tell you what to do. As long as you don't do anything wrong, you are alright.

1
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments