"Asian" Family Rules

0 29

It's kind of hard to explain to someone who grew up in a different family environment why you're not allowed to go outside. It's totally different from explaining why you're scared to tell your parents something that will just disappoint them.

The majority of Asian societies are primarily collectivistic in character. Individuals are considered as immersed inside their collective identity in individualistic societies, and the concept of a distinct, independent self is overlooked. The family and its principles, decision-making by agreement instead of a popular referendum, and a faith-motivated willingness to work hard have all been emphasized in the Asian value systems argument.

People who possess high-context cultural beliefs are also more likely to participate in evaluations in order to guarantee they are complying with group standards. Having to stand in a manner that casts a negative light on the group or potentially causes the party to "appear weak" usually results in significant emotions of shame. Emotional expression is frequently moderated in many Asian societies by ideas about emotional limitation, in which very pleasant or overly harsh feelings are restrained in order to maintain communal peace. Religious convictions are an important part of the cultural effects of the different Asian tribes. Although there might be societal advantages to emotional restraint, repression of emotional responses may worsen mental pain in people suffering from mental health discomfort, and for others, medical conditions may become one technique for conveying existential pain.

There is even a case of tiger parents killed by their own daughter. The daughter, Jennifer Pan, was being fake all along because she made her parents believe that she is this child who is very good at what she does to at least not be a disappointment to her tiger parents. Jennifer did not succeed since when she made up a story, it didn't go in the right way. Who in the world would leave a victim after killing the parents, uninjured and wouldn't notice the victim call the police even when she is tied up? Jennifer was given a life sentence without the possibility of release for such manslaughter of her mom and intending killing of her father. Tiger parents exhibit some beneficial parenting characteristics; nevertheless, in contrast to loving parents, tiger parents also ranked highest on negative parenting qualities. Authoritative parents and tough parents are similar in that they both employ neglectful parenting techniques. This indicates that their good parenting techniques exist side by side with their poor decision-making techniques. Tiger parenting has been shown in studies to be hazardous to a child's stress and mental status in their way of thinking and actions.

My family has many rules in the house that will not make sense to other people. It sometimes can be understood but at most times, I don't think other people can survive. Some may even abandon their families because it is like someone holding your neck and you can't do anything but fight back or let go.

Growing up, I wasn't allowed most things that a child should do. At one point, I went to a birthday party of my classmate alongside my friend and everything was pretty well. We were a bit early on the house so we decided to go out and tell our other friends to come to the party because the birthday girl is also preparing the food. When we came back, I found my so-called "father" waiting outside, asking me to come home. I have a terrible relationship with my father now but at the time, I know that he was just strict. I didn't even get a chance to bite my food because I am required to go home. I didn't actually act like a child because I know that it was for my safety, although my friends were a bit disappointed, I just have to deal with it. There's even one time that I went to a classmate's house to practice for a dance that we were tasked to do. Since school ends at 5 o'clock in the afternoon, obviously, we will end up the practice by night. And since after the practice, I really want to go home already, I rode a tricycle. When I came home, my mom got really worried since my grandfather is supposed to pick me up. I didn't know that he will come to me and also, one of the rules back then is never to ride in any form of vehicle that isn't owned by a member of the family. That was a fault on my part. Transitioning to college, I had a lot of added rules since I decided to study in the city. One of which is the curfew. Although other people will think of it as immature since I have to decide for myself, my reason is that I don't want to have my parents worried about me. I am a girl so there's a lot of added reasons why I can't go out most of the time by myself. Although there are times that I should be doing something fun for myself, I still think about the people who will be worried if I go out with people who they don't trust.

I know that all of these things are just part of the protection that they want for me. I'm the first grandchild and also a girl so every eye was on me. I have no trouble or problem with these rules and regulations, however, when I say these stories of mine to my friends, they are a bit worried about me and they tell me that I seem to be living in prison. I know that no one would feel the same way that I do when I follow those rules because we don't live in the same household and we don't have the same parents.

1
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments