A Teacher Once Said to Me...

0 17

We all have our favorite teachers or professors in school. We all have memories with them since they are part of the people who helped us mold ourselves and become someone we are now. However, not all the time, there's a rainbow in that field.

Back in High School, at the start of the school year, I always experience that pressure and nervousness, even though I know I will meet and be classmates with the same people. I'm an introvert and part of that is that having the problem of getting along with other people. And since not every time, you can please people, I have to adjust myself to not make anything that will make them look at me and see me as a not-so-good-looking person.

By the start of 9th Grade, I came across a teacher who I know is smart and fun to bond with. We are sort of introducing ourselves to her, like to her only, and it was my time to have a little chat with her. She was sitting at the desk at the back and the first thing was she said was my name. My name is the girly type and she asked, "Why is your name like that? Is it for people to distinguish that you're a girl?", and then all of a sudden, I heard laughs from the people in front of her. It was not all of the class who heard it but enough to make me sad. Don't get me wrong, she is not a cruel teacher. She's one of the best teachers out there. However, what she said to me, got me to the point that I will never be accepted and appreciated enough because of my looks.

I'm not up to par when it comes to the standard beauty of society so I have never been the apple of the eye. But at the same time, I don't want to be the center of attention, just because of how I look. I want to get the attention based on my skills or for the knowledge I bring because I don't like people bragging about the outer structure. I mean, I'm proud of that kind of person since they can maintain that sexiness they want or the built they want to have but for me, I'm not that kind of person, and I don't judge people based on how they look.

Fast forward, I once heard a sentence, the same manner as that teacher, when I was in my 2nd Year of College. One professor asked me during an oral recitation, "Are you a girl?". Although I said Yes right away, it hurts deep inside. And it is so embarrassing because I noticed some guys laughed when the professor said that. And by the time I got home, it hit me with that understanding that maybe I look like the opposite gender. And nothing will change the mindset of the people around me unless I change my look. And society will never understand what I feel and just judge me for being too dramatic.

I always want to get along with people but with how most of them judge me because of how I look, I prefer to just be quiet and not say a thing unless they want to talk to me. I want to make friends but apparently, I will only stick with people who will somehow understand with me. I appreciate that kind of person since at least, they want to hang out with me even though I look not as beautiful as they are or don't have that excitement as they have.

What's the worst thing a teacher has ever said to you?

3
$ 0.40
$ 0.40 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments