Online Gaming Detox

3 15
Avatar for stella2020
3 years ago

Hello everyone! This is @stella2020 and I am back after 2 weeks of hiatus. My job keeps me busy that I cannot attend to this platform. Hope you can find time to read and subscribe my account.

The past few months, my 12 year old nephew stayed with us. He had the liberty to connect to our internet for him to play online games. Most of his time was spent with his cellphone instead of going out with us and helping the chores.

Then we asked him, what is his usual routine in their home. He then replied, "after washing the dishes, I run to my cell phone and play. We also play every night with my brother until wee hours." That answer was very alarming on our part. He is still very young but as we see it he is addicted to this online game.

To make his stay more meaningful, I asked him to minimize the use of his phone, 1 hour in the morning, 1 hour in the afternoon and 2 hours before going to sleep. I also gave him academic tasks like memorizing the multiplication table and some English lesson. He was assigned also to some of the household chores. Good thing that the young boy was responsive and willing to learn but still also looking forward for his free time to be reunited with his cell phone.

That time, we realized that, it is not easy to balance things for the young ones. Especially that those things that we deprive them to do are the things that could make them happy. We just wanted him to feel that they do not need those distractions to make them happy. Also, we have to do more and help them find things that can make them productive.

Online games are intended to entertain and give diversion from the souring work that we have. But for now, online games are distracting and corrupting our childrens' minds.

Let us all practice online gaming detox.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of stella2020
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for stella2020
3 years ago

Comments

Now the way to entertain the child is with the telephone or computer, toys have gone down in history. It is good when an adult is aware of the game and completes tasks, so that he also learns useful values for when he is an adult.

$ 0.00
3 years ago