"No man is an island." Kraken has blocked ~ $ 300,000. Is This Legal?

0 18

Hello, friends! I want to share with you my story of how I've been trying to unblock my verified account on Kraken cryptocurrency for the second year now. The reason for blocking is still obscure to me, technical support's been promising jam tomorrow and asking to wait. It's been two years...

The story runs from 9/27/2018 to the present. I will briefly describe the chronology of communication with Kraken support below:  

  1. September 2018. They blocked my account (September 27, 2018), I immediately contacted support to find out the reason. They accepted my application, asked me to take a picture with my passport and handwritten text. I did everything they asked and sent it in.

  2. After a while they asked for more photos of the documents, I sent them. After agreeing on a time and date, they offered to contact me via video call. The videoconference was short, they asked key questions about the account, what currency pairs I traded, etc. They were worried why I video-communicated from a laptop, not from a personal computer from which I registered my Kraken account and traded. At that time I did not have a portable webcam and had problems starting up my computer. After the video conference ended, the operator asked me to wait for a further decision.

  3. January 2019. They ask for a utility bill or a bank statement. I made my bank statement and sent it to support.

  4. April 2019. 21 days have passed and there is no answer. I wrote them again, and the answer was "wait for processing".

  5. May 2019. It's been 30 days, no answer.  I wrote them and got the standard answer - wait.

  6. July 2019. No answer.

  7. September 2019. No answer.

  8. October 2019. No answer.

  9. From time to time I would draw attention to myself, but received the standard answer that the request is not resolved, wait. And so it's been two years. I recently (February 2021) filled out another form to restore my account and sent it in. I received a letter with instructions, namely that it is necessary to enter the account from the equipment through which I registered and traded. I followed the instructions, sent a screenshot. And for the past month there was no answer again.

I am shocked by what is happening and by the attitude of such a large cryptocurrency exchange as Kraken to its users. What do you recommend to do?

Friends, I hope for your support! I will stand up to the end!

2
$ 0.20
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments