Me and My Fashion Philosophy

0 25

This is the first time I entered a fashion store with a deliberate intent to actually purchase something. I was trying to find my birthday gift, an article of clothing called "turtle neck" (Please do not ask me why is it called turtle I have no idea) and got directed to this shop by a saleslady. I entered the store wearing my usual plain white t-shirt, my tattered denim pants, and white shoes that I got from Avisha.

Unsplash

The moment I entered, I immediately felt that people were looking at me or rather my clothes, perhaps because what I am wearing are definitely out of place for this establishment which exists solely for fashion. I did not allow their awkward glances to discourage me from fulfilling my mission to buy a gift.

Unsplash

I was never a fashionable human being. I only have 15-20 t-shirts in my name, a few pants, a pair of slippers and a pair of white shoes, the rest of my clothing under a vague system of co-ownership with my younger sister.

Unsplash

A few days ago, my friend Alliah, the incumbent SSC Secretary, told me that a friend happen to ask him why I do not wear Heels"Because I do not really own one" was my answer. (Most of the heels I use usually for Church are under that abovementioned system of co-ownership; I own a pair of black shoes for law school but their whereabouts I no longer know ever since they were rendered futile by the pandemic). I told Alliah the story of how during our SSC days, whenever I have to be "presentable" in front of VIPs, what I would do was to borrow clothes from my good SSC adviser ma'am Abby. She would lend me a white polo blouse, some jeans, and some decent shoes to wear. One time he even made me put wax on my hair.

"That is how I survived for the longest time."

Last week, I got acquainted with a rather fashionable lady in Odiongan, who told me that she was very anxious to meet me in person because I have this "Reputation of being simple" while she admits that she can be materialistic at times. She told me that she was afraid that I may judge her. I told her that I was not aware of such reputation of mine and also told her that the way I dress is not a product of a conscious self imposed philosophy of simplicity. The reality is, I just never really have put much thought about clothes. To be honest, it completely escaped my mind until recently. I guess my fashion sense can be described in a few words: "Whatever is on top of the cabinet".

Unsplash

I am not completely unaware of certain dressing etiquettes, but I must admit I am inclined to violate the rules more often than not. That is my take. I just completely forgot about it. Although I remember writing once in my journal: " A truly beautiful woman would not be too heavily reliant on the clothes that he wear". I guess this has truth in it, for my clothes never really became a hindrance with my human relations or with my man relations. Except that one instance that my rich cousin told me why I am wearing the same shoes all the time and pointed out that its color had already become too faded. She commanded me that I should get rid of it. God knows what my shoes ever did to her that she wanted it disposed. I, of course, did not obey such silly demand. Other than that, I never really had any problem or any remarkable instance about fashion.

Unsplash

Although, I must admit, roaming this store, I actually like their plain shirts and shorts. I always dreamt of having 15 plain black or white shirts so I would never have to think of what to wear ever again. I think I would most probably buy them in this store someday. But I was actually culture shocked, albeit I am aware that some clothes can really be expensive, that a single shirt can cost 900+ pesos.

Anyway, that is me and my fashion philosophy.

Thank you for dropping by<3

@springapple All rights reserved 2022

You can find me on:

Don't forget to Subscribe and Like if you like my article.

2
$ 0.68
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Jumper-01
Sponsors of springapple
empty
empty
empty

Comments