Previously Promised Preview of Pepperoni 🍕

0 20
Avatar for sponge-bob
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Pepperoni, Life, DClub, Story, ...

Moving Day Surprise

I went to help one of my boys get moved. He is moving much further away than he has been. We went to the old place which was just a room (I will be making a post to show you his new place too) to an apartment way out in the boonies.


packet of precious pepperoni
I was going to make an unboxing video, but photos will have to do for now...

Back to what I was talking about. We got to the new place and were sent out to scope the neighborhood out and get some chow. Because the new place is in "provincia" (suburbs?), everything is different. the garbage is up on poles instead of dumpsters, the businesses have wrought iron signs, the stores have chalk boards for pricing and hand drawn signs.


close up of ice cream cone -hand dawn.

And apparently, the delicatessen (fiamrreria) has pepperoni!
Now, I have not been able to find pepperoni in stores since 2006 and that was only one time. I was able to buy it but I had no good way to slice it, which makes it rough to put on pizza. Little half moons and quarter moons of red delight were okay, but I just wanted the real stuff.

Still moving on with the unboxing

My son was ordering some ham and getting some cheese when I asked if that was real, I saw the whole pepperonis hanging there. The guy said it was and I asked if I could try some as I doubted him.

He sliced one off and I tasted it - Spiced Delight in my mouth as the words came out, "Give ma a pound of that stuff!" (a half kilo). His eyebrows went up, and he proceeded to spend the next five minutes or so stacking them in their paper container.

We got back to the house and I had to open it and share some with my youngest and his sister-in-law. I really wanted pizza at that point but there were only toasted sandwiches.

Everyone was spent and we left at 9:00 p.m., took the train, then a taxi back into the city where we proceeded to pull out some frozen pizza from the freezer, then tweak it with some onion, garlic, and the delightful disks you see here.

I have been excited to have these back in my life again. I hope they will be available when I return the the suburbs to see my middle boy. I have been checking every deli counter for over twenty years to no avail, but tonight was a big win.

I used to have to come into the city to find imported things that remind me of home, but now everything went full reverse. Take me to the river...drop me in the water...

Till the next one.

4
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @ezrider
$ 0.05 from @done
Avatar for sponge-bob
1 year ago
Topics: Food, Pepperoni, Life, DClub, Story, ...

Comments