Spring Garden Update: Roses

0 9
Avatar for solominer
3 years ago

I planted a bunch of bushes a few years back, though not all survived. Maybe it was due to me treating some with bad home made pesticides. I used vegetable oil and really pissed off some of the plants, more than the bugs it would seem.. haha

But a few of them have stuck around and I really enjoy seeing them grow. The one in the cover is the largest of the bunch. Its seated in a whole where a basketball post used to be. So there was a large hole in the ground when I removed the concrete in the ground. Due to this, the Rose bush has really flourished with all that lose dirt it got from the start. It produces long stem Roses right around mothers day and throughout summer. I give them to friends and to my mom as they bloom. The smell is just amazing and I always enjoy seeing them.

Learning how to trim them is an important step to getting consistent Roses. Using a technique called "dead heading" I trim off the already spent flowers. As if I do not trim them the Rose bush will keep putting energy into the Rose hips. Its considered a fruit and can be used for herbal teas, jam, jelly, syrup, rose hip soup, beverages, pies, bread, wine, and marmalade.

Maybe one day I will let them grow into these fruits, but for now I trim them so get flower after flower to bloom.

I show off a second Rose bush in this video as well, it already flowered and has dropped many petals. Its alot smaller than the first Rose bush though its under part shade so maybe thats why. Or maybe its just a smaller cultivar of the rose bush family.

LBRY Video Link

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for solominer
3 years ago

Comments