Drown Into Eyes

0 15
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Drown into eyes while they're still blind -Nightwish

The quote above is from a song While Your Lips Are Still Red by Nightwish. If you haven't heard of them...yet, it's okay, I understand. It's because they are so underrated. They are not mainstream, Not a lot of people know them.

Just a little background, Nightwish is a symphonic metal band from Finland. Mr. Toumas, a songwriter, said, "Hey, you and I would make a great team. Let's form a band. I will write the songs, and you do the guitar. Girl with long hair, you can sing, right?"

And that's how they came about. That was twenty five years ago, and ten years from there I came to know them.

What I like about their music is their intricate arrangements. Yes, it is metal. The music that can destroy your eardrums. The one that could possibly trigger your momma's migraine, or your neighbor's eyebrow. But for me, their music sounds like a modern orchestra. More like the epic intro of your favorite RPG game, or the soundtrack of its boss battle. It's just noiser. Noisy but good. To put it, it's like drunk Mozart and Beethoven combined.

Another thing that I like about their music is the lyrics of their songs. Unlike the modern songs of today, theirs are like poems that have a voice. A voice that tell stories in a magical way. Of warriors and creatures. Of faraway lands and of untold feelings.

And that voice is not just any other, but a powerful one. The one that can go very high and very low. The one that captivates the heart and soul of those who listen.

I love all three of their vocalists. But my heart is especially fond of their current one, Floor Jansen. She looks like a valkyrie to be heard.

Drown into eyes while they're still blind

I actually didn't understand most of the lyrics to the song when I heard it the first time. Years have passed, and I still don't. It was until I had my first child.

That line from the song caught my attention. Only I realized that it speaks of the innocence in the child's eyes. The purest of pure smile in their eyes. Those eyes that have no hint of any negativity, it could calm you down. Those eyes that could lift your weary self.

Drown into eyes while they're still blind, could only mean that you should enjoy being with the child while they are still young. While they still talk about rainbows, dragons and adventures. While the simplest drawing can bring their smile ear to ear. While the simple sight of you brings a lot of joy to them.

I for one have to always remind myself of this line. With all the gadgets and stuff, time passes by so fast. Sometimes I lose grip of those times. But I am still thankful that I made a lot of precious memories as my eldest is growing. And will still will.

Let this be our reminder, not just for mommies but for daddies too. Babies grow up so fast, make most of your time with them.

Thank you for reading and for passing by. If you want to know Nightwish, I recommend Ghost Love Score in youtube; the live one, they are awesome live.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of snapping.turtle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for snapping.turtle
2 years ago

Comments