Why baptism is of such great importance of Christian life?

0 26

Why baptism is of such great importance of Christian life?

In Galatians 3:27, God said something about baptism and it says, “For all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.” This means that people become one with Christ through baptism and able to live a life free from original sin made by original parents, Eve and Adam. It is a gateway to enter a Christian life where people are out with the old life and in with the new with sanctifying grace given as a gift and people are able to become an official member of the Church. It is of great importance for the reason that it is an act of obedience to God which He required for the people to attain salvation and forgiveness of sins. It is a conversion to live as an adoptive child of God and as the temple of the Holy Spirit. 

 My personal experiences of infant or adult baptism

    As I recall my experience of baptism through the pictures that were taken during that time, I think I was just a child who barely understands and grasps the situation that I was into. My parents told me that I was baptized at the age of two together with my siblings at St. Joseph Parish Church. I saw one of the pictures and we were crying our eyes out as the priest poured the water on our heads. There’s also the presence of our godparents holding the lit candles during the baptism. Back then,  I was just an innocent little girl who just wants to play and have fun not knowing anything about the world. But as I’ve grown older and looking at these pictures, it is far from what it shows visually from what I have understood in the present day. It has a deeper meaning more than what it shows in the image. Now, as from what I understand, by following the Church practice, parents make an act of faith and commitment on the child or infant’s behalf to be baptized. Also, godparents serve as the proxies in case either the parents are unable or neglect to provide for the religious training of the child. They also profess their faith and have an obligation to the child being baptized. On the other hand, candles that are part of the sacrament signify freedom from sin and light of Resurrection. While water that is used symbolizes washing and new life. Overall, I can say that that the experience that I had in attaining the sacrament of baptism is still one of the reasons for my salvation and why I am still enjoying my everyday life as a child of God. It is because of Him, through Him, and in Him, I am continuously free and saved.

4
$ 0.78
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments