Reflection: February 2021 – First Sunday of Lent

0 17

Gospel: Mark 1:12-15

Reflection:   

Jesus was once in the desert for forty days, lost, and was tempted by Satan but prevailed over the sin. This shows How God is powerful that He overcomes all of it because of  His faith. I feel like, through this gospel, God spoke to me indirectly that whatever I am experiencing right now is just part of what He wants me to realize in life. There’s some point in my life that I will just think about a lot of things and it overpowers me. It ate me as a whole and stay at that point for some time or worst for days. It makes me doubt things that I am capable of and turns them into negative emotions. I can’t handle the emotions that most of the time I breakdown a lot but God never fails to help me with what I’m going through. He is always there for me and never leaves me. Every day there’s always a temptation, discernment, and other negative emotions. However, at the end of the day, God makes me realize that I was never alone and He is bigger than the problem that I have. He always makes a way for me to go on the right path in life. That I am lucky that I am alive and receiving every blessing of life even though I commit sins. I am blessed enough because some people when the problems were thrown at them, either cope up to get better or to rebel. Some eventually came on the wrong path and destroyed their life without even realizing that there’s still hope but the problem is that they are not seeking what’s better for their life.  

I remembered that the priest asked “So how you will make the Lord look bigger?” and He said, “To magnify the Lord, You need to make yourself smaller.” And that made me realized that’s why I am not attaining continuous joy because something is missing in my life and there’s something that needs to be fixed. I often make the problem more problematic that without even realizing what God has to offer for me. I kept neglecting His promises and plans and too focused on deadlines, paper works, and other academic and life problems. These things cause me sometimes overwhelming emotions, anxiety, and stress. I forgot the things that are most important in life that will complete me and that’s the love of God for me as well as my relationship with Him. In the desert,  it may be a difficult and unclear situation but with the accompany of God, we can find hope and silence. Everything is possible if we are with Him and have faith that the fire in our hearts will continue to burn for Him as well as continued to be held by Him.

1
$ 0.00

Comments