The sign of fun(ny) times

0 57
Avatar for sleepyjey
2 years ago
Topics: Funny, Humor, Comedy, Fun, India

Funny signs (both intentional and unintentional) are everywhere. Whatever be the reason and wherever you see them, they usually bring a smile to your face. They make the world a happier place!! They are not new either. This collection of funny signs and notices are from 15 years ago. I had taken them on my old mobile camera -a Sony K510i that could shoot photographs at a resolution so low that no one today will believe!

I've often wondered why these notices make it to final display in public spaces. There seem to be many reasons.

1. Most of them are written and printed by non-English speakers. They do make spelling and grammatical errors. Some errors happen due to translation difficulties in choosing the right words.

2. Some have a sense of humor and use this to their advantage

3. Some are just coincidental - it wasn't meant to be that way.

Whatever the reason, it definitely gives us something to smile about.

Disclaimer: All these photos are shot by me during my four years in a place called Trichy. Yes, the internet will have funnier signs, but these are real ones that I have seen. I have to agree that some of these are not as funny or weird as some that are available on generic internet funny sites

Typos can be spary!

Let's start with a simple typo. Technically this is a spelling error that went unnoticed. I saw this at a supermarket in the deodorant and perfume section. "Please do not spary", was the sign. Before you google or thesaurus the meaning of spary, relax and rearrange the letters of the last word - spray! You may not have even noticed the error. Apparently, the human mind can rearrange letters to form the correct word if the first and last letters are correct!

The punny sign

These shop owners certainly got it right with a sense of humor. Taglines are crucial to any business. This tagline is a pun in the true sense of the word. Their play on the word station(ery) is worth a round of applause.

"All stationeries are stationed here"! I hope their business was not stationary.

Unintentionally connected

It's rather unfortunate that the two printed notices are placed right next to each other. One is a job vacancy notice and the other is a sales offer notice. Putting them right next to each other makes it look like you get a bonus salesgirl!

"Wanted Sales Girls. Offer - Buy One Get One Free"

That doesn't sound right or pleasant. Just don't think about it when you make a purchase. The offer does not apply to salesgirls!

Intentionally disconnected

Three lines are all it takes to mess your brain completely. This exciting notice starts somewhere and ends somewhere else. The poor grammar and noble thoughts just end up garbled. I guess the first 2 lines are an attempt to state that they offer the best price for the products and this is lower than the MRP (Market Retail Price). Now they throw in some philosophy at the end to try and make you a better person!! Where did that come from?

We beat the price!!!

No one on MRP!!!

(Keep our country clean)

They forgot the exclamation marks on the last line, but we'll forgive them for that lapse!!!

Authoritative

This car has a small logo at the top of the rear glass indicating the owner is a lawyer. The word below that is absolutely authoritative.

DICTATOR

I always thought that for a lawyer the Law was his word.
This lawyer tipped it around – His WORD is now the LAW!

I wonder what happens if he gets pulled over by a cop. Who will dictate the verdict?

Lost in translation

After 15 years, I still haven't figured this out.

"Say In To Healths" makes no sense whatsoever. You will think that maybe it's a translation of the statement below that which is written perfectly in the local language. That statement (in tamil) says "Don't get addicted to drugs". Now you know why I can't figure out the English line.

Maybe the painter was high when he painted this sign! And I don't mean the ladder that he used to get to paint the sign!

Undiplomatic

This is definitely a chicken shop that sells big juicy chicken that can be cooked. Mmmm.... yummy.

The name choice for the shop leaves a bad taste in the mouth though. Is it humorous? Is it sexist? Is it undiplomatic? Is it honest? Is it literally correct? Is it tasteless? I don't think the customers cared much about the name - Fat Chicks definitely drew a crowd!

On your mark....

The sign on this ATM made me nervous. It was honest but left me with questions. It made me more nervous. What if my reflexes were not good enough.

"PLEASE COLLECT CASH AS SOON AS IT IS DISPENSED. OTHERWISE SAME WILL DISAPPEAR INTO THE MACHINE."

My reflexes were fast enough, I succeeded and my money was mine! What a relief!

And let me end it....

All these signs were from a place called Trichy 15 years ago. I haven't visited the place for more than 10 years now. The city was lovely and the people were friendly - I enjoyed the four years I spent there. And all these little signs and notices just added to the fun we had there!

Which of the above is your favorite sign? Do you have a photograph of a funny sign or noticeboard from your city? Do share your thoughts in the comments section.

And thanks to my sponsors for encouraging me to stay active on this website!

Sponsors of sleepyjey
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of sleepyjey
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sleepyjey
2 years ago
Topics: Funny, Humor, Comedy, Fun, India

Comments