Why I Keep a Gratitudinal Diary

5 70
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago

Hello there, everyone! Today, I'd like to share with everyone why I keep a Gratitudinal Diary and how it has helped me during the day.

As we all know, life isn't all about comforts, and that we will all face challenges at some point in our lives which will force us to look life at a different perspective. We'd be ungrateful, sad, emotionally drained, and mentally exhausted as a result. We would also equate ourselves to someone else's life and wish we were in the same boat as them.

That's when we stop appreciating the beauty of our lives, which is something I don't want to happen to me.

So...

What is a Gratitudinal Diary?

Gratitudinal Diary is a journal in which you record your personal blessings and life events for which you are thankful. It's all about scanning your day and examining every aspect of every second of your life for which you may be thankful.

The following are the reasons why I kept a gratitudinal diary;

It helps me begin my tomorrow with positivity

Waking up with a grateful heart

I normally write my diary before going to sleep at night. One of the reasons is that I want to go to bed with a thankful heart. The feeling is truly indescribable, and it also encourages restful sleep. When I wake up in the morning, it makes me want to have a better day ahead of me, and I can sense a positive feeling inside me.

Beginning each day with positivity improves my psychological and physical well-being, it decreases stress, and keeps me from becoming depressed. Apart from that, I believe it is assisting me in being more efficient and thinking more clearly. It assists me in being a resilient individual capable of facing a crisis or trauma with power and determination. Rather than collapsing in the face of such adversity.

I was taught by Rhonda Byrne to do so

The Magic - a life-changing book written by Rhonda Byrne

My mother gave me the book "The Magic," published by Rhonda Byrne, while I was in seventh grade. This book was also given to my mother by a student at her school.

I felt so light while reading it, especially after learning what magic is and how it can transform my life.

I've learned that,

"Whoever has gratitude will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have gratitude, even what he has will be taken from him.” - a passage from the book The Magic

This is something I will never forget, and it has truly transformed me into a grateful person. This is the magic! Following my discovery of what magic is, I was instructed on how to experience magic through a daily practice of gratitude.

Day 1 -Count Your Blessings:

Counting our blessings simply means being grateful for what we have. No matter how small it may be, but when we are grateful for it, it will start increasing. If we do not count on positive aspects of our life then we might fall into the trap of unintentionally counting negative things. When we talk about a negative situation, negative people, when we complain about other, we count negative things and we cancel on counting positive aspects of life. So we will do a quick activity as mentioned below:

Magic practice Number 1

Count your Blessing:

1. First thing in the morning, make a list of ten blessings in your life you are grateful for.

2. Write why you are grateful for each blessing.

3. Go back and read your list, either in your mind or loud. When you get to the end of each one, say the magic words, thank you and feel the gratitude for that blessing as much as you possibly can.

4. Repeat the first three steps of this magical practice every morning for the next 27 days.

You can try practicing Day 1 of The Magic if you want and let me know how it went for you!

I used to do that before, but during the pandemic last year, I switched to writing a gratitude journal at night instead of in the morning.

See the cup as half-full

Always try to see that a cup is half-full not half-empty!

In this world, there are two kinds of people: those who see the cup half-empty and those who see the cup half-full. I'm the latter, and it's because I keep a gratitudinal diary. It helped me see my life in a positive light, allowing me to appreciate the little things that most people overlook and because of this approach, negativity stayed away from me for years.

Apart from that, it has assisted me in accepting the fact that "the world is a random place." Consider a scenario in which you were in a dire condition and expected your best friend to assist you, but he or she did not. You knew best friends were supposed to support and save each other, and what just happened might have irritated you. In that scenario, I can only assume that my best friend had a good reason for not doing so.

Or, instead, I may simply state that this is not the case for all. Whatever it is, I don't see why I should leave my best friend, and I don't like looking at one place in particular; I prefer to see the whole picture. Why would you abandon a best friend who has been there for you for years and with whom you have shared your life after he has disappointed you for the first time? You shared happiness, laughter, tales, and sorrow together. That's more than enough reason to keep him.

That is what it means to see the cup as half-full!

Stay Grateful

Stay Grateful No Matter What

I've noticed that writing down what I'm thankful for every night has had a positive impact on my life. The bottom line is that, it helped me stay grateful no matter what was going on in my life. It aided me in the development of empathy and the reduction of anger in me. I acted in a pro-social way. I've learned to forgive others, and with that, I can at least claim to have matured. I've also noticed that being thankful has helped me boost my self-esteem at times in my life. I have become healthy.

This is a sample of my gratitudinal diary that I have written last May 14, 2021

I want you to know that I was initially afraid to share this with everyone because I feel awkward. There's a resounding voice in my head of what society has told me that men shouldn't keep diaries. But, of course, I don't want to pass up this chance to share what I've been up to. Particularly because this activity has the potential to help a large number of people avoid stress, which is a major contributor to mental illness. This is something I want to spread to everyone. I want you to be grateful as well, so you can enjoy more abundance in the future.

Reference(s):

  1. https://www.thesecret.tv/products/the-magic-book/

Image link(s):

Lead image from Pixabay

Positive Morning image from Pixabay

The Magic book image from thesecret.tv

Cup Half-Full image from Pixabay

Stay Grateful image from vecteezy.com

4
$ 14.71
$ 14.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago

Comments

Ako kc lazy magsulat.. Meron ako dto kaso pag tatagal natatamad na 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung day 2 ata ate maganda din.. kuha ka ng magandang stone, yung round at smooth.. dapat walang sharp edges tas every morning and every night, hold the stone while saying all the things you want to be grateful with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously? Effective b?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang may movie sa The Secret na book SJ no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ata ate.. may nakita din ako na movie

$ 0.00
2 years ago