The Call of a Beggar: "Try putting yourself in my shoes"

5 46
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

I am here right now, sitting and have been watching people complain (I also complain) about the sudden total locked down in our town. Lately this morning, we have just received that we have already one positive case in Corona virus. The municipal government in my town has to announce sudden total lock down for three days. People from all walks of life flocked in the town market, they panicked. I asked my mother to not to go to market anymore because I have seen photos in Facebook of the current situation in the town market.

We still have some enough food and we couldn't help ourselves but sometimes complain, "For two weeks, wtf is the government doing. We have calamity funds and the city governor already sent 1 million pesos to our town but we are receiving no food or anything."

Some had already been starving because they don't have money to buy food. They are helpless!

This afternoon around 4pm, I have to go to a store nearby and buy canned goods. A man caught my attention. NO! He caught my heart! He was the man I used to help before the locked downs had been implemented. When I started earning Bitcoin Cash and developed the attitude of generosity, I am also helping this man everytime I saw him. Thank you. Now let's go back to the real story :)

After buying canned goods, I have to go to him and offer some that I have. He smiled at me at gave me a thumbs up. I can no longer give him a handshake so this man has to walk and leave. Everyday, you will saw him walking in the same routes probably because he has no home and no place to stay. No food and no money. As he left, I feel something very deep, somewhat heartaching but somewhat relieving. I couldn't really tell what it is but as we walk apart, I saw his back full of hopes and doesn't want to give up on life yet. A man that knows no complain, a man that knows contentment.

Tears left my eyes as I think of this. What if I were on his place? What if... It's really hard to say, as hard as his experience in life. But if I were on his place, I'm thinking of giving up or could be just ending my life. I can't afford to experience so much suffering; being starved for days; being alone and waiting for someone to lend a hand. How horrible!

While I was thinking of this, a message passed by: " I am a beggar. I eat little food a day or sometimes couldn't have any. If you are trying to complain about your situation please do think of us. We are poorer than the poorest. If you are still complaining, I would be happy if you want to make an exchange.", then I saw a smile.

Hairs stand all over my body. The smile that I saw at the end was quite creepy and horrible to try.

I hope we will all realize that we are still blessed. Thanks for reading this little story I have now.

Keep safe everyone ♥️

Lead image source

3
$ 1.11
$ 1.00 from @nyusternie
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Comments

Sorry mate but the image doesn't represent any begger, she's some kind of seller. But the article is well written.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

We're using free images here and I've seen that it's the best free image so I chose it.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Ok man, what matters more is your content, and that's really good.

$ 0.10
4 years ago

If you are still complaining, I would be happy if you want to make an exchange.

I learned a LONG time ago, that there is ALWAYS someone who would eternally grateful to exchange their life with yours; so we should ALL be very appreciate for what we have

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah, I certainly agree with that now. That man just made me realize that.

$ 0.00
4 years ago