Realization about Game and Life

0 66
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Games

My career as a player began eight years ago. I became addicted to mobile games as a result of my classmates' willingness to pay me with their games on their phones in exchange for assisting them with their projects. (Just pretend you didn't learned that 😂)

To be honest, I was completely engrossed in the game "Art of War,"

Image Source: https://news.softpedia.com/news/Art-of-War-Makes-Strategy-Mobile-70376.shtml

and I was at a stage in my life where I constantly dreamed or, more accurately, thought about it all the time. Of course, those were the finest days.

I got my first cellphone two years later; I don't recall the model, but it was a Cherry Mobile phone. I was so thrilled that I forgot about the folks around me for a brief while. I downloaded and played the games I wanted. This is where the fun begins 😄

My mum even had to take my phone away from me every night so that I can perform my bit as a student. You can tell I'm addicted to games just by looking at that. And I have no regrets. But today, I realized I have a lot of interesting ideas about it.

And here's the deal:

I've spent a lot of time playing mobile games and video games, which, when I think back on those many hours, felt like the most wonderful thing in the world. I was really absorbed. I was committed. I was hooked. I was devoting all of my efforts to completing a task in the hopes of being rewarded once I completed it. However, looking back on that period, it's easy to perceive it as primarily a waste of time.

But I don't believe that all entertainment and leisure activities are completely pointless. There's a monetary value, but when I consider the number of hours, days, and even weeks that I've spent engrossed in some fictitious endeavor, it's like clouds. It's like constructing dreams out of puffs of air that suddenly vanish. All of the worlds I've conquered, the castles I've constructed, and the stories I've lived, it's all in this fictional universe that contributes nothing or very little in terms of time. It provides a sliver of satisfaction to my everyday life. And this is one of the great escapist expressions, which I'm fortunately no longer making.

I do get the urge to jump back into a game now and then, and I don't rule out the possibility of doing so in the future. I'm thinking about going into a small hole for a day or two and simply letting go. However, because it takes so much time, it's a very dangerous hole. And, in retrospect, I'm amazed that I had that much time; now, I can't seem to find it, and I wish I had used some of it differently. But what exactly is it about this that makes it so interesting?

It has a beckoning quality to it. And when I consider what drew me to play a game, I believe one of the things that drew me in was the game's simplicity. A game is a system of challenges and rewards that is extremely enjoyable to play.

We put forth the effort and battle to overcome the obstacles, and then we are rewarded. The challenges are simple to complete because you don't have to leave your phone, and the rewards are modest. All we see are blinking lights, and the way they line up makes us pleased. But there's something about it that appeals to me. This basic, comical, bright, clear, and colorful style. There's something about it that appeals to me. It's the same way with life.

Real life is pretty much the polar opposite of that, with so much being awkward, ambiguous, and confusing. The difficulties are unknown. In a game, you can have these great, colorful, clear buttons and press these buttons. You get to make some decisions. You travel around in this bright cartoon world, and suddenly the flashing lights and bright badges appear, indicating what you have accomplished.

It's also quite tidy. It's a closed system in which only a few variables are used to construct the game. Only a few things are considered, and everything else is excluded. And I can simply concentrate on this small number of clearly defined variables. In real life, however, there is no limit to the number of factors that can be involved. We can learn to concentrate on the most important things, but there will always be noise, as well as faults and variations. As a result, I've discovered that a desire for simplicity and clarity is part of what draws me to that world.

But it is, of course, the real world that makes all the difference. The benefits are genuine, and that fact alone is enough to make everything worthwhile. The world of video games is a world of fictitious prizes that vanish at the end of the day or as soon as I exit the game. However, in the actual world, the game never stops as long as we're alive.

Today's victories may be minor. It could be compared to a tedious video game in which you painstakingly complete mundane tasks in exchange for ambiguous, delayed rewards. What we do get, though, is genuine.

That is all 😊 and thanks for the time reading this 💚

5
$ 11.14
$ 10.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 1
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Games

Comments