How to overcome the feeling of being left behind?

25 84
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Left Behind, Advice

Since I quit because I couldn't keep up with PMMA's probationary month, I've felt like I've been "left behind" because my batch mates or even just my classmates are continuing their college classes while I don't. It was difficult for me to believe that I wouldn't be able to graduate with them in the same year. Even though I try to think positively, I can't seem to break free.

But things began to shift after I was introduced to read.cash and this pandemic arrived. Depression, class discussions, and death announcements were all around me, and it became the catalyst for me to return to that sensation of being "left behind."

So, in this article, I'd like to discuss that sensation of being left behind, as well as what I did to cope and handle that emotional agony. And I hope that these things would be of assistance to you anytime you feel left behind.

Starting with...

Stop comparing yourself to others

It's a lot simpler to say than it is to do.

Colonel Sanders created KFC when he was 65 years old, did you know? Did you know that Samuel L Jackson did not get his major acting jobs until he was 40 years old?

What those two persons teach us is that everyone matures and peaks at different times in their lives. A man directly above us has various goals for each of us, and you will succeed one day as well like these two person. You'll be astonished to learn that few people learn this until they're considerably older. And I'm pleased I took it earlier because I wouldn't have realized it if I hadn't experienced this feeling of being left behind.

You can understand what I mean when I say that everyone matures and peaks at various periods. What this means for you is that you must let go of the notion that life follows a linear pattern of progression because, sadly, it does not. And with that, I'll go on to the following topic. That is, you must stop comparing yourself to others since the people you are comparing yourself to lead quite different lifestyles than you. They've had a variety of experiences. They were exposed to a variety of experiences. Just for example, some people are so good in trading or speculating and you're not. That's because they were exposed to a different experience that made them learn a lot of things about trading or speculating. That's not just the same on you.

And another one for example is, I was exposed to PMMA's arduous training while my classmates aren't. I failed and they didn't so that's why they were able to continue their classes because they took a different track. I learned to accept that truth. We have to realize that every person on this earth has been dealt a different hand in life, and some are sadly better than others.

However, rather than comparing yourself to others, you must make do with what you have. Learn to admire and be glad for the people in your life who represent your definition of success, but don't become envious of them because if you do, you'll begin to doubt your own achievements. You'll begin to believe that your achievements aren't really achievements at all. And it's only because of this that you'll begin to create a toxic environment within your own head, and you'll become your own worst enemy. Allow their achievements to have no bearing on the enormity of your own.

Don't ignore your feelings

Never act as though your feelings of being left behind are incorrect. Rather of running away from the sense of being left behind or not knowing why we're feeling left behind, we're going to try to understand why we are feeling this way. You must change your perspective and admit, "Yes, I am feeling left behind." Just like I did. You have to accept that, and accepting that amount of vulnerability is challenging.

But here's the thing: recognizing who you are and your own feelings is the point. Because if you pretend that your feelings don't exist or that they don't matter to anyone, you'll get better at disguising your tears behind that beautiful smile of yours that everybody loves to watch.

What I'm getting at is that your feelings are important. And if you embrace your current state of mind and feeling, you'll begin to grasp who you are, and you'll be able to better understand and control your emotions in the future. I understand that admitting that level of vulnerability is difficult since it makes you feel weak and volatile, but the key is to get out of your head of society's expectations of you to not. Once you've accepted that such feelings exist, you can proceed to take sensible steps to resolve the issues.

Accept and embrace your feelings. It's understandable if you feel left behind. It's only part of our lives. It is there to strengthen us and make us better people. There has never been a problem in the world whose main goal is to destroy people. Even Jam Magno is there to put Rabiya to the test and strengthen her. You're probably aware of what I'm talking about. 😊

Seek out emotional support with the people you trust

When you finally talk to someone you trust about your sentiments, like truly opening up about your sentiments, the scenario, the problems, and the emotional anguish you're experiencing, it goes a long way toward getting it out of your system. And for someone to pay attention to that chaos and your feelings is something that we really need, I'm telling you, remember I said your feelings are important. So, you know, to actually absorb that and listen to that, and for them to respond, you need to talk to someone who you trust. Someone who genuinely wants to sit down and talk to you and is concerned about your well-being.

So, think about the people you trust, whether they are friends, family, or even a teacher. Look for someone you can confide in and who you feel comfortable telling about your troubles since it goes a long way once it's out of your system. I'm telling you, it feels so amazing when you meet someone, or perhaps a group of people, or a community, who understands your sorrow.

I recall my most recent issue and how I opened up with Ate @Jeaneth . Because talking to others or sharing your difficulties or thoughts with them can help you discover yourself and the solution. I was grateful that Ate was there to assist me. And it truly does assist you in coping with that emotion, as well as your emotional side. And it is very beneficial to your mental health in general. And your mental health is equally as vital as, if not more vital than, your physical health.

Conclusion

I hope that by writing this article, I was able to provide you some emotional support as well as practical advise, because those are the things that genuinely helped me. To be honest, I still feel a little bit left behind, but not because of my classmates continuing their classes or college life, but because of some of our colleagues here who have been able to profit from market trading or, for example, from airdrops. But because the impact isn't particularly strong, I merely remind myself that I, too, should be grateful for the many invisible blessings in my life. That's my secret, being grateful during ungrateful situations.

This is sj, I love you all and please look after yourself and keep in mind that there are individuals that care about you.

Image link(s):

Lead image by Vidar Nordli-Mathisen on Unsplash

Compared woman face image from Pixabay

Don't ignore your feelings image by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

Team Building image by Shane Rounce on Unsplash

12
$ 7.60
$ 7.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 7
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
2 years ago
Topics: Left Behind, Advice

Comments

Writing really does help to express your thoughts. I'm glad that you were able to surpass it. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have to face the problem constantly From family or society. I try my best. But if not successful ?? They say if they can, why can't you? Why don't you get them so well. This makes me even more frustrated. Comparing with others gives bad luck. They do not understand that not everyone is equal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kayang-kaya mo yan po.. Huwag na huwag susuko sa pangarap.. Hindi pa huli ang lahat...πŸ˜ŠπŸ€— Kaya laban lang.πŸ’ͺ

Happy Independence Day..πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not left behind.. Kasi pwd kpa naman humabol 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana nga ate... Struggle ko din kasi yung pag manage ng time... Basta nahihirapan ako lagi πŸ˜ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag aaral kpa rn b? Need mo rn ng break pa minsan minsan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helpful contain πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aspiring mariner ka rin pala bro, hirap rin naman kasi ng 1 month probationary ng PMMA. Same as you, I also failed last year and was left behind, it was so hard to cope with the frustration due to failure plus disappointing the high expectations of people surrounding you plus that feeling of being left behind... It was the toughest times of my life, I've just locked myself in a room watch animes, play games to somehow forget the worldπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Sure bro? Haysss depressing nu lalo na kasi ang laki ng gastos namin dun.. okay lang kung marami kaming pera, haysss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depressing nga eh na nakakakonsensya sa laki ng mga gastos ng parents tas sa huli wala lang pala

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Being grateful during ungrateful situations.

Ang ganda 😭 Wala nko magcomment Basta maganda haha

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahahahhaa, The Magic ate... Nirerecommend ko talaga... Mura lang na book

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Try ko isearch. May book din ako na binabasa Parang gamyan din Yung vibes Kaso naiwan ko Kasi sa Manila

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Whenever you feel "left behind"
remember that those "leading"
may very well be going the wrong direction.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what lead you to that conclusion but as I have cited that we peak at different times of our lives but if you're referring to the quality of education that my classmates are taking this pandemic, you have so much points there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry if my text makes no sense.
[I get a lot of that, so often what I write makes no sense to others]


What I mean is that,
in life:
Those we perceive as being leaders (and their followers)
who compel us to feel we are being "left behind"
are very often rushing into situations that suit them and not us.


Flip everything on its head:
Examine carefully whether
people who make you feel "left behind"
are going where you really want to be.
You may discover
that you have a direction of progress
which no one else can compete with,

$ 0.20
2 years ago

I get it now. I'm so excited to see the end of the tunnel πŸ˜„ Although I don't want to be so optimistic but I know I'm leading to that direction. And I guess, everyone of us really has that, "direction of progress which no one else can compete with."

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"direction of progress which no one else can compete with."

find that and you will always have keys to happiness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will always have the #Club1BCH family supporting you and you can always DM me for a chat whenever you want! I am always available !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks bro, I will when I already can't take it by myself. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago