How BIBLE saved their Family and Home

0 30
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

This is one of the most favourite stories I love. Amidst life adversities, I always took time to serve God. Everyday, giving him thanks for supporting our family.

I must admit, I am only 19 years old now and everyday, I have to sell myself. I always offer services to the people I know and ask even just a little reward. I have tried being a house maid, cook food for a family, teach math for a penny, I just tried doing construction works yesterday and the last thing is blogging.

This was my life but 6 years ago, I was tested. A super typhoon just hit our home. It was the month of November, year 2013 when a super typhoon Yolanda hit our country.

During the typhoon my family and I has to stay outside our home since a neighborhood informed my father that the very large mango tree at the back of our home is likely to fall and hit us. My father owns a second hand small cab (that time) and that became our shield against the strong wind of typhoon Yolanda. My father and I has to stay outside for 1 whole night since all of us cannot enter the cab.

With God's grace, the large mango tree didn't fell in our home (just a part of it). And the ceilings of our home were also blown away.

After 2 days of living inside this small cab, the weather is finally fine (in my town). The typhoon is still hitting other cities and have killed lives.

There were 10,000 people who lost their lives.

Four days after, we received a news.

"There is one and only home in the near town that stands still."

The elders even say that this was the only house that remained standing in their town. What made them hard to believe is that the house was not as concrete as other house in their town - it was half cement and half made of woods. While other houses in their town which was made by cement with strong foundations were ripped off or were destroyed.

The family inside that home shared a very inspiring story.

"Before the strong winds hit our home, I opened the Bible in Psalm 69 and prayed to God."

The people were wondering if what was stated in the Psalm 69.

The family took the Bible and showed everybody the content of Psalm 69.

1 Save me, O God,
    for the waters have come up to my neck.
I sink in the miry depths,
    where there is no foothold.
I have come into the deep waters;
    the floods engulf me.
I am worn out calling for help;
    my throat is parched.
My eyes fail,
    looking for my God.
Those who hate me without reason
    outnumber the hairs of my head;
many are my enemies without cause,
    those who seek to destroy me.
I am forced to restore
    what I did not steal.

You, God, know my folly;
    my guilt is not hidden from you.

Lord, the Lord Almighty,
    may those who hope in you
    not be disgraced because of me;
God of Israel,
    may those who seek you
    not be put to shame because of me.
For I endure scorn for your sake,
    and shame covers my face.
I am a foreigner to my own family,
    a stranger to my own mother’s children;
for zeal for your house consumes me,
    and the insults of those who insult you fall on me.
10 When I weep and fast,
    I must endure scorn;
11 when I put on sackcloth,
    people make sport of me.
12 Those who sit at the gate mock me,
    and I am the song of the drunkards.

13 But I pray to you, Lord,
    in the time of your favor;
in your great love, O God,
    answer me with your sure salvation.
14 Rescue me from the mire,
    do not let me sink;
deliver me from those who hate me,
    from the deep waters.
15 Do not let the floodwaters engulf me
    or the depths swallow me up
    or the pit close its mouth over me.

16 Answer me, Lord, out of the goodness of your love;
    in your great mercy turn to me.
17 Do not hide your face from your servant;
    answer me quickly, for I am in trouble.
18 Come near and rescue me;
    deliver me because of my foes.

19 You know how I am scorned,disgraced and shamed;
    all my enemies are before you.
20 Scorn has broken my heart
    and has left me helpless;
I looked for sympathy, but there was none,
    for comforters, but I found none.
21 They put gall in my food
    and gave me vinegar for my thirst.

22 May the table set before them become a snare;
    may it become retribution and[b] a trap.
23 May their eyes be darkened so they cannot see,
    and their backs be bent forever.
24 Pour out your wrath on them;
    let your fierce anger overtake them.
25 May their place be deserted;
    let there be no one to dwell in their tents.
26 For they persecute those you wound
    and talk about the pain of those you hurt.
27 Charge them with crime upon crime;
    do not let them share in your salvation.
28 May they be blotted out of the book of life
    and not be listed with the righteous.

29 But as for me, afflicted and in pain—
    may your salvation, God, protect me.

30 I will praise God’s name in song
    and glorify him with thanksgiving.
31 This will please the Lord more than an ox,
    more than a bull with its horns and hooves.
32 The poor will see and be glad—
    you who seek God, may your hearts live!
33 The Lord hears the needy
    and does not despise his captive people.

34 Let heaven and earth praise him,
    the seas and all that move in them,
35 for God will save Zion
    and rebuild the cities of Judah.
Then people will settle there and possess it;
36     the children of his servants will inherit it,
    and those who love his name will dwell there.

The family told everybody that it was only God that saved them. The mother (she was the one who opened the Bible) said that she never stopped praying.

I felt like I was stabbed for several times and was bleeding profusely. Why on Earth have I never been remembered God during that time. It could have had save our home.

It could have had saved a thousand homes and millions of Filipinos.

These were the photos taken by rappler after the typhoon

Almost everything was ruined.
Not a single one was left.
There's no place for home. People were scattered on the roads.
Some are even trying to look if there is anything that they can recover.

Everyone was helpless. Everyone was begging for food. Some couldn't even think of living a life again. Some lost their hopes.

But what is most important after hearing that story:

"Never do the same again. Always remember God."

1
$ 0.25
$ 0.25 from @BitcoinCast
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Comments