Covid19 and My Town

2 83
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Smiling faces can be seen everywhere, kids were playing outside, students go to school, parents go to work, and were as normal as it is. These are the things that I am missing right now and there is nothing that I can do but wait for these moments to come.

Covid19 is the worst so far that I had ever experienced in my life and to the rest of the Barotacnons (this is how we identify ourselves). Everyday is a battle and each day the battle gets harder and harder. What had happened here in my town will be my main topic right now.

The Covid19 Timeline

I have arranged all the events in our town chronologically.

1st week of lockdown (March 10-16)

It's first week started last March 10 when our City Governor released an Executive Order N0. 028-B "AN ORDER IMPLEMENTING ADDITIONAL DISEASE CONTROL MEASURE TO PROTECT THE PROVINCE OF ILOILO FROM CORONA VIRUS DISEASE 2019". Everyone started to feel the sadness and fear from within that they might caught the virus but things didn't quite change. It is still like a normal day for all of us but there is just fear. Some people started to panic buying and some were just relaxed. For me, this week was just normal.

2nd week (March 17-23)

Students didn't go to school anymore and ordinary workers except government officials and front liners started to lose their job. The effect of covid19 can be felt already and most especially to the elders(senior citizens) who were forced to stay at home. Most people for sure started saving their money. Quarantine pass were implemented and only 2 persons every household were given the chance to go out. These are the parents who will buy food. During this week, we also started our online meetup and am glad that it turn out well.

3rd week (March 24-30)

Last March 27 when we first heard that there was already one person affected in our town. Her test results turned out to be positive and so her family was under quarantine. During this week, things were a little harder. We were about to ran out of money so I decided to withdraw some of my BCH into our local currency. Strict implementation of social distancing and wearing of masks when going to the market was observed. Also, I have been reading stories in Facebook that some are already experiencing financial problems.

Last March 30, our town mayor arranged schedules of people going to the market. Our town have 26 Barangays and 3 sitios. We were grouped into three and my Barangay was Group C and we are scheduled to go to the market April 2,5,8... The main problem here is not solved (in my own opinion)! For example, one of my neighborhood here earns money from trisakad driving (it's a a bike with three wheels and we use it for transportation), since social distancing is highly observed they were no longer allowed to work which means they are not earning money. What could be the purpose of this schedule in the market if most of the people here do not have money to buy food? That's an opinion only but if I were only given the chance, I would want to voice this out but sadly I can't because they won't listen to me :(

4th week (March 31-April 6)

Last April 1 when the government announces that they are processing cash aids for 18 million families. That was 200 Billion pesos (around 4 Billion dollars) to be distributed over 18 million families. The official announcement on television was that,

Every household will receive 8,000 pesos ($160).

That's nice to hear and atleast people will have enough money to buy food. In the meantime while everything is on process, some who do not have money anymore will still likely suffer. Most of us actually didn't have to go to the town market to buy because there were some fruits and vegetables that can be found in their backyards. Lucky for us also that we have planted some and now we have something to eat and can save money.

During this week, a viral video about Aswang (they eat human flesh) which was found on the ceiling of a house. The story goes this way (according to what I saw and hear from the video), the members of the family in that house hears something from their ceiling (a creepy voice) and they could also hear the movements. Since our roofs were made from light materials, when someone steps on the ceiling, it's making loud noises. Moments later, they knew that the Aswang wanted to eat the baby inside the house so they started to call the attention of their neighbours. It happened at night and during that time there were people passing by that street. A man saw the Aswang because when he was passing by, he heard noises on the roofs so he redirected his flashlight on the roof and saw the Aswang. He shouted! This was the time that everybody went outside the house bringing their flashlights and policemen came also. The Aswang couldn't escape anymore because she was trapped. In the video, it was showed the results but the last thing I saw was they were running after the Aswang when it was able to find its way out. Now let me tell you, even Aswangs were affected of this covid19. And now our situation started to become worst. The next day, another Aswang was found next to that Barangay.

There were also news from other towns that people started to rob houses. This could be the jobless persons who do not have money anymore. Worst thing that could happen is killing not because of the virus but because of hunger. We started to secure our houses every night so that we won't get robbed and especially that we are saving money too.

April 5 was the death of the first person affected here in our town. We started to feel sad and everyday it feels like the virus is getting near us.

5th week (April 7-13)

During this week, we have another case in our town. This is really sad because amidst the strict implementations we have new a case. Also, during this week we were still not able to receive the cash assistance from the government. They also announced the extension of quarantine until April 30. My heart is aching, I don't know why but I am feeling really sad about our situation. Almost everyone is angry to the government because the process of receiving the cash assistance was too long and they keep saying they are sorting what household to receive the cash assistance. This statement is now against to what they have said before. Now, list out the richest of the rich or prioritize the poorest of the poor and that's done. Hahahaha, to process our parents needs to present their annual income and past it the government local officials and wait if you are passed. Really? Maybe because the reason why it is taking too long is they are calculating how much money to corrupt!

Also, during this week we do not have something to get from the backyard and it's almost empty.

Using coins.ph

I didn't want to do this but I know I have to. I just withdrawn 80% of my savings. We need to survive and we don't want to wait for that cash assistance to come. Am very thankful that Bitcoin Cash helped a lot to me and to my family. I shared some of the money to my grandma and uncles. Though it's not big but atleast could help some. When they asked where am I getting this money, I proudly told them that it is from Bitcoin Cash. This is where the long chat begin. Also, all of us(in my city) who have saved BCH from the past withdrawn our BCH. But we will get those BCH back in our wallets, we are joining the coinex competition and were hopeful to win the prize. If you know some logo contest, please let us know.

For now, stay safe guys and be sure to keep yourself healthy. I am also happy to see that a lot of things has been happening on top of Bitcoin Cash. This covid19 is really an opportunity to keep building tools for BCH. I salute you all because even though I feel sad sometimes but when I saw you guys building more, I feel happy.

This is all the story that I can share for now 😅 and once again stay safe.

Thank you for reading :)

4
$ 16.48
$ 13.37 from @molecular
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
$ 1.00 from @Cain
+ 1
Sponsors of sjbuendia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sjbuendia
4 years ago

Comments

Your all article is interesting and informative....COVID19 is a burning issue in the whole world...also in our country situation is not good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

COVID19 and My Town

$ 0.00
3 years ago