Dear Dreamer, What do you want to be?

2 14
Avatar for sincerely.j
2 years ago

Dear Dreamer,

I have two sisters who pursue teaching as their career. There are lots of teachers in my family. One of my sister's tutee asked me, what is my dream. He meant what job do I want to have.

Funny that we often ask this question to kids but when kids ask us this question, we feel awkward. (Do you? Or is it just me?)

"Your two sisters are teachers, what about you. What do you dream to become?" he added. I don't know how to answer him. I paused for a minute then think about how could I answer him.

I told him that I am studying Bachelor of Public Administration right now but he didn't know what that means. I joked him, "Someday, you will see me become the president of the Philippines."

I didn't expected that he would believe it. So I told him that I was just kidding. The truth is, I want to be a public servant. I want to become someone who serves the public and help the poor. I heard myself with those words and I thought that was so corny because that's how kids usually answer when they are being asked about this topic.

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Some answer, I want to be a doctor. Why? To help cure the poor. I want to be a teacher. Why? To help teach the poor. I want to be an engineer. Why? To help build houses for the poor.

I am already 22 but my answer seems to be the same as to what kids say when adults ask them that question.

I want to be a fund raiser.

I recently discovered that there is a job position entitled as "fund raiser". As I read the qualifications to be a fund raiser, I told myself, I want to become it.

Before I knew about being a fund raiser, all I know in my mind is that I want to help people. I'm practicing my skills that I think I could use when I someday put up events that will help people. I like planning an event and I practice by giving my service for free in planning my friends' and relatives' birthdays. I practice decorating for events by decorating our church during ocassions like Heart's Day (Valentine's Day), Christmas, Anniversaries, etc

I make clothes because I thought I'll be needing to know fashion when the time came when I want to organize a big charity event like galas.

I try enhancing my skills that I think I'll be needing in the future.

What do you want to be?

How about you Dear Dreamer, what do you want to be?

I know that others say that you should not always do what you want. You should consider what's practical. What job will give you lots of money, not what your passion is. But is that really how we want to live our life?

I am not ashame to say that I am not mature enough. I know that I don't know everything. Maybe, I'll realize what those people mean when they say that. But for now, that's what I believe in. That we should follow our dream.

Sponsors of sincerely.j
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Itsfarah
Sponsors of sincerely.j
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sincerely.j
2 years ago

Comments

We have a lot of dreams to become whatever its teacher, doctor, etc but it depends on us how we achieve our target or goals. Glad to know about your profession you want to serve humanity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to know you want to be someone who serves the public and help the poor. Nothing is impossible, all we need is the consistency to hold on our dreams otherwise they will be shattered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago