MountVesuvius

28 24
Avatar for shipon.akondo
3 years ago

On #ThisDayInHistory in 79 AD, after centuries of dormancy, Mount Vesuvius erupted in southern Italy, devastating the prosperous Roman cities of Pompeii and Herculaneum and killing thousands. The cities, buried under a thick layer of volcanic material and mud, were never rebuilt.

In the time of the early Roman Empire, 20,000 people lived in Pompeii and 5,000 people in Herculaneum. During the eruption, many occupants attempted to flee but some 2,000 people stayed holed up in cellars hoping to wait out the eruption. The people who remained were killed the next morning when a cloud of toxic gas poured into the city. After the eruption, Pompeii was buried under 14 to 17 feet of ash and pumice. Herculaneum was buried under more than 60 feet of mud and volcanic material. In the 18th century, the two cities were rediscovered and excavated, providing an unprecedented archaeological record of the everyday life of an ancient civilization.

Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 AD, destroying several cities in the Roman Empire. Today, it is still considered an active volcano.

9
$ 0.00
Sponsors of shipon.akondo
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Thanks to everyone for supporting me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to everyone for supporting me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to everyone for supporting me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to everyone for supporting me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to everyone for supporting me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for staying with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

pase thakar jonno dhonnonbad๐Ÿ™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hmm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice very good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for staying with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one bro and it's informative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for staying with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

โคโค

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for being with me. I have supported you. you will support me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for staying with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wlc

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good post. Make sure you add your own flavour if using source material. Just subbed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for staying with me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks for support

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I am the head mod for this history group.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago