what it's like to be an infj

0 20
Avatar for shewrites.17
1 year ago

Yes, you read it perfectly. Today, we’re gonna be discussing things pertaining to personality and such. Though I want to feed you basics about myself.

By its definition, personality is the entirety of one’s behaviors, characteristic patterns, and thoughts. Historically, it was derived from the word persona, which is commonly referred to as theoretical masks used to accurately portray a role. Apparently, someone’s personality can be influenced by some underlying factors such as, generally, their environment.

Most of the time, we fall into the trap of comparing ourselves to others.  Aside from our comparison, we sometimes wish to have the same life as theirs. I know you have done that and to be honest, I also did. Frankly, I kind of did that multiple times unconsciously. Eventually, one day during the pandemic, I took the personality test out of curiosity. 

“We are all built differently.” The biggest realization I had in 2020.

To begin with, knowing your personality type means a lot, especially when you struggle in finding your inner self. According to 16personalities.com, these sixteen (16) personality types are sectioned into four categories. First, the logician, architect, commander, and debater fall under the category of analysts. Second, for the diplomats, the advocate, mediator, protagonist, and campaigner are included. Up next are the logistician, defender, executive, and consul which are under the category of sentinels. Lastly, the explorers include the virtuoso, adventurer, entrepreneur, and entertainer. 

Obviously, upon taking the test, I found that I am an INFJ or simply someone with introverted, intuitive, feeling, and judging personality attributes. I couldn’t believe it at first since I knew it was one of the rarest personality types, but as soon as I read the description, I was extremely shocked by its accuracy. Concisely, I am a quiet and mystical, yet very inspiring and tireless idealist. Knowing that I am an advocate shifted my perspective on how I view myself and my environment. As an INFJ, I tend to approach life with deep thoughtfulness, imagination, and a principled version of humanism. According to some research, INFJs are the rarest personality type of all, however, we undoubtedly leave a significant mark in this world. We’re conscientious to the core and strongly care about integrity. With regard to our values, we actually move through life according to our own wisdom and intuition. 

As for your information, one of my anxieties back then (and even now) is seeking purpose. With all the things that my colleagues do in their lives, I got terrifyingly unsure of what I wanted and should do in my life. I didn’t know where I fit which ultimately caused me to be more anxious and depressed. However, I allotted a few months for reflection which led me to where I am right now. I have realized that I am immensely different from most people. Of course, I would get questioned and misunderstood a lot since I do not actively interact with my org mates, friends, and even my family. With my reflection thoughts, I have concluded that I find helping others to be better as one of my life missions. Also, I tend to aspire to fix (or question) society’s deeper problems. But as I help other people a lot, in some instances, it causes me to be stressed and burned out, which is why now I justifiably set boundaries. 

Most people (maybe you are one of them) think that we generally do not want to be around other people. But that’s actually just the other side of the coin. On the other hand, we seem distant to others, especially to people we barely even know, since we are really and incredibly picky about who to let inside our circles. Also, we are very sensitive and warm in conversations, and that is why we enjoy deep talks more. We’re sensitive to how we converse and treat others which also increases our expectation of people to treat us sensitively, but that is the problem. In fact, I am bad and good at communicating. Honestly, I am quite inactive socially these past few weeks so that I can just focus on myself and in organizing my thoughts. 

Just a brief commercial, some known personalities with an advocate personality type are Marie Kondo, Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, and Lady Gaga. 

As an INFJ, I tend to observe more and study the temperature of the room. That is actually how I empathize with others. In relationships, I am more likely the type of person who believes in the complexities of relationships. 

An old soul with childlike imagination.

Wants to genuinely make people happy.

Irreverent sense of humor.

WIstful daydreamer.

More likely to cry over an injured animal.

Never stops seeking whys.

Reserved. Practical. Creative. Complex. Deep.

Moving forward, as I have said earlier, at this stage, I have trouble deciding which specific career path I should take. I read in some articles that INFJs are mostly counselors, psychologists, social workers, and spiritual leaders. All of these are not in my pre-identified paths. As for your information, I am currently taking Marketing Management as my course in college and am now in my fourth year. Since I am an overthinker, I also think that I might not excel in this field. But regardless, I would like to just use this to my advantage as advocates are passionate communicators, which can be a very useful trait in sales and marketing. Additionally, I’ve given content creation a thought as one of the things I want to do after college. 

I know this is not “all” with regards to being an INFJ, but these are just basics. It has been almost a year since I last published an article here. I took a break honestly since things got really overwhelming and it was difficult for me to find time to create content. Regardless, I hope you would still wholeheartedly accept me here hihi. Kidding. 

To end this one, let me put a quotation here:

“Some failure in life is inevitable. It is impossible to live without failing at something unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all — in which case, you fail by default.” - J.K. Rowling

Hope you like this one. Let’s catch up more on this amazing platform.  Also, I would like to know your personality type in the comment section :>

Sponsors of shewrites.17
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 0.64
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of shewrites.17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for shewrites.17
1 year ago

Comments