Disconnect to Reconnect

0 24
Avatar for shewrites.17
3 years ago
Topics: 2021, Relationships

What does connection mean to you?

You may not notice how social media is slowly drowning you with lots of information each day. You either like, scroll, comment, share, react, or just do nothing. Mindlessness. Most of the time, you scroll through your social media applications searching for something that does not have a real benefit. Instead, it just keeps you from looking at what's really with you. This often leads to the social comparison in which you lessen your true value with the value that you perceive or see in others. Connection? In this generation, when technological advancement takes the lead, you are forced to be in the same trend of using these gadgets to keep connected with people you don't even know. Not to be biased, technologies are truly beneficial, especially in this setup, where it is being used as a tool for education. Moreover, this is also a medium for those who are far from their families, friends, and loved ones. Now, take time to reflect on what does connection really means to you.

Photo Courtesy: Pinterest

Connection, for me

In my view, a connection is when you have a quality conversation with yourself. My younger self fell into that trap, the trap that could lead me to anxiety. I was constantly comparing myself to others due to the standards that I have set for myself. These were pushing me to check my notifications every minute whether my friends already replied to my messages, or if someone had a story to share with me. Briefly, I was looking for attention and I guess attention was not really something that I need. I took a step back and tried to figure out where I currently am. And then I found myself in a place where I could no longer notice myself. I was surrounded with the information I don't really need and was all nonsense. It was all a strange nightmare, I was lost in my past definition of connection. By the morning, I looked at myself and was trying to remember what my dream was. I searched for my journal and a pen, then I wrote something I couldn't even imagine. It felt like I was speaking with this cute tiny voice but bigger and deeper thoughts with regards to what social media has done to me.

What did I do?

Simple, but this one needs a lot of courage to be possible.

At first, I tried to set an app timer to monitor my usage of a certain application. I found myself being more disciplined than usual. I could no longer scroll through Facebook mindlessly, so it actually minimized my screen time. It actually helps me to be more productive. Moreover, it does not only help me to increase my productivity but also became a medicine in my addiction to social connection. Further, I can now live in the present, with my own unique traits and story.

How much does it cost?

Frankly, it will cost you a lot, but the good news is it doesn't need your money. The opportunity cost reconnecting to who you truly are is by disconnecting. It may sound trivial and the progress won't be visible as you expect. On the other hand, if you continue to be under the superficial powers of social media, then your future will be the cost.

Why would I want to disconnect?

It varies from one person to another. To offer you an opening to this magical side of disconnecting, here are the possible doors that may open when you try to eliminate this in your system.

  • Allows you to have more time to unlock opportunities

  • A quality time with families and loved ones

  • Mindfulness

  • Unserved benefits of reading books

  • Creativity

  • Introducing your authentic self

  • Have your own branding

  • Appreciate who and where you are today

What should I do to be reconnected?

Here are some simple ways you can practice:

  • Try journaling

  • Meditate

  • Uninstall social media applications (if possible; this is the most effective)

  • Live in the present

  • Avoid social comparison

  • Be yourself

  • Gratitude (List 3 things you're grateful for in each day)

  • Talk to Him, our Creator (This is really therapeutic and calming)

After reading this article, I hope you have a deeper understanding of what connection truly portrays.

0
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
Sponsors of shewrites.17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for shewrites.17
3 years ago
Topics: 2021, Relationships

Comments