When in a Hurry, Slow Down

0 21
Avatar for sheisvang077
1 year ago

How could slowing help you move faster?

You know, old people are quite wise

They always have these anecdotes where young people often can't get.

It always seem like every word they speak have hidden meanings, or they talk in codes.

Take for instance the above mentioned title.

Why would slowing down make you go fast?

When you have a destination in my mind and your driving, of course, driving at a faster mph gets there ahead of those at a slower pace.

Or when you do all things together, you can get more things done.

I tell you though, my Ma, she always seem so calm doing things.

She never seem to be in a hurry.

In fact, she always do things at a pace where young me would consider turtle-ish.

I would say I was the complete opposite of slow.

When I do things, I always, always want to get things done immediately, so I'd string all works and hasten everything.

Which kept getting me redoing so many things due to mistakes and accidents.

My mother's line is always, "When you want things to get done fast, slow down."

I never fully understood this until I got at a certain age.

Young people often wants immediate actions, rush through things even without pre-thinking(making my own words here) or preamble.

I rushed through life without second guessing everything.

Not even a back-up plan in mind.

Looking back at how I've handled my life, I'd say my Ma was right.

You see when you slow down, you'll have time to think things through.

When you slow down, you're actually able to make sure that the steps you make are safe.

You can prepare for what's to come and be able to psych your self to be able to come on strong.

String pearls fast and you'll be completely amazed that I'm right. Come on try it at home.

I did try it and timed myself and the more I go faster, the more I slowed my self down.

But when I carefully stringed them together, taking time to be patient, I haven't missed a single hole and was able to complete stringing them altogether at an earlier time.

My point is, when you go through life in a rush, you'll burn out easily and can't be able to enjoy it, perhaps you'll be sticking your tongue out and take heaves of air as if you're out of breath. You'll also see that you'll have more mistakes and wrong choices made.

But take time to slow down and you'll see that your dreams and aspirations can be achieved faster and you my friends will have fewer heartaches and pains.

Just a simple analogy, from me to you.

Vang

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for sheisvang077
1 year ago

Comments