the people at sm foundation

2 14
Avatar for sheensheen13
3 years ago

I have been an SM foundation scholar for 3 years now and I am forever grateful to everyone who built this foundation and continuously works for its betterment.

SM Foundation is an organization that focused on social inclusion by nurturing and caring for communities where SM is present and provides educational scholarship to deserving students that are the future of our nation. Being part of this foundation, I can see how the employees that handle the foundation work hard for us scholars. They continuously work for the betterment of our online site so that we can pass our requirements without bringing inconvenience to us. In addition, I have witnessed how the employees work like family. They are so light to be with and very organized. Everyone has specialized tasks that the people there greatly contribute for the success of the organization. Before the pandemic, they have been actively organizing activities and events for the scholars and although it is not easy, they always do it with utmost care to what would make us happy. There are only limited employees and Ma’am Ling, and her subordinates, put so much effort to make everything go as planned. During our Christmas parties, I could witness how they communicate properly whenever contingencies happen and deal with it. Whenever we have our general meetings taking place in a huge venue, and scholars from all around Luzon attend, they don’t look intimidated knowing that our number overpowers them. They always look composed and collected. The employees and the supervisors have a very healthy relationship that we never see them argue.

Seeing them work and finish their task, I get inspired to become a professional who knows how to be lead and to lead. They showed us scholars that work should not feel like work and problematic, like them, we can have fun and develop friendships with our colleagues. Their behaviour and mindset definitely contribute to the performance of SM Corporation as a whole. I look up on how they make things done while working to help other people at the same time.

I am looking forward to develop my interpersonal and intrapersonal skills through these lessons that will enhance my sense of camaraderie with my future colleagues. Just like what Mrs. De Leon mentioned in our recent meeting, being educated with how organizations and the people in it work would build me more credibility knowing that I have enough knowledge understand how to lead and being mentored at the same time. We all have our own personal life and personal battles to deal with so working to earn money shouldn’t add to our problems. Being a leader is not an easy task thus, by studying organizational behaviour, I can make my future managers feel less burdened looking after me, also, they can see the potential leader skills that I possess while I was under their control. As managers use people to attain the goals, we must be equipped on how to be efficiently used for the good of our overall performance. They are really professional but they balance work with personal matters which makes them more approachable.

As a scholar under SM Foundation, I tried working once during Christmas break for 10 days and I can say that I gained so much during those times because everything felt out of my comfort zone. During that time, they were giving attention to us scholars because we are all inexperienced but I saw how they let us do what some tasks on our own and I believe that it helped us gain more confidence to do bigger tasks. As I worked there for a short time, I became acquainted with the people I work with even if they are way older than me. I realized then how it is better to develop genuine friendship with the people you work with so I can feel at ease with approaching them whether I have questions and showing them that I am still learning without being scared of being judged.

One time, because it was raining and I have no idea that I would be so wet from the December rain, I got there with my stockings drenched with rain while others look dry going to work, I felt cold and ashamed. I was trying to think whether I would just go home and tell them I’m sick but when I asked the regulars, they understood my situation and told me to let it dry first. Just like that, I knew how important it is to communicate with others and I felt happy that they were understanding and patient to me instead of making me feel ashamed of my situation. Those kinds of empathetic co-workers make the work environment feel more like a family and it makes everyone work with less drama and disputes. If every organization feels more like that, then going to work doesn’t have to feel burdensome and work can still be fun and enjoyable with effective and compassionate people.  

If you see yourself being part of tasks not because you are assigned to do so but because you genuinely want the best for the company you work for. For me, a goal is not meant to be easily achieved just by luck, the people involve must work hard for it to turn into a reality that if I become a CPA, I must do what I can do to contribute to the success of executing a strategy that everyone put their effort in. As we all know, decisions are dependent on the information and data collected, thus, as an accountant, all I can do is produce solid and credible financial statements. Being accountable on my duty and behaving with great integrity so the outputs I can share will lead to a cohesive decision that everyone agrees with.

After I graduate, I want to give back to this amazing foundation which helped me achieve my dreams and supported me financially to reach all my goals in life. I know how much they treated us with so much care and I am so happy to meet the people who guided us by showing us how compassion could change everything for the better.

Sponsors of sheensheen13
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for sheensheen13
3 years ago

Comments