Can you keep secrets?

29 31
Avatar for sheensheen13
3 years ago

Answer this honestly for yourself.

Will you be able to keep a secret? Without telling it to others close to you?

"Three may keep a secret, if two of them are dead." –Benjamin Franklin, Poor Richard's Almanack

This is a really powerful quote. Keeping secrets is tricky and almost a burden to those who cannot hold any confidential information among themselves.

Everyone of us has secrets. Sometimes is it wise to keep it in for ourselves but some secrets are hard to keep. You have to have someone who knows it as well to share to burden or to not make you feel suffocated.

Once you give trust on somebody with your secret, it is crucial and only Time can tell whether it will be exposed or not. You have to give a leap of faith that she will keep it with her on her grave.

"A secret remains a secret until you make someone promise never to reveal it." –Fausto Cercignani

For me, this means that a secret is no longer a secret once you reveal it to someone and expect him to hide it. This is hard to believe but we can never really expect someone to not tell, like 100%, because we tell them not to.

I know how hard it is to keep a secret. I am guilty that some secrets shared to me, I also shared them to my other close friends as long as it is not any DARK pasts and sorrows that I forbid to share to protect what is entrusted to me. I know I am not that good with secrets for I am very close with my mama who I share everything with.

I will never generalize because I am sure this is not the case for everybody. Most people are honest to not kiss and tell. They have engraved in their hearts to hide something, even if it is so hard to do it because they might get into trouble or worse, suffer from it.

Secrets are promises that are kept between people who trust one another but it can also feel like a PRISON to someone who can hardly hide it from guilt and fear for the person with secret who might experience the pain of once it is revealed.

Keeping secrets is wise but thinking that it will stay hidden forever can be foolish because we all know that TIME can tell everything even the trashes we put under the rug.

One thing is for sure, you should share secrets only when you know you can keep one yourself. As much as possible, learn first to keep one before you share one because you can never expect someone to do it for you if you can't do it yourself.

We all have secrets. We all have told secrets. We all have kept secrets. How to deal with it is our choice. Remember the first quote: secrets are only safe once you tell someone and the next day, they are dead.

If we don't want the burden, make sure not to engage into something you will never be proud of to disclose.

Sponsors of sheensheen13
empty
empty
empty

15
$ 0.00
Avatar for sheensheen13
3 years ago

Comments

I can keep a secret. Why? Because what is told is rarely worth spreading around (besides of the fact I hardly talk to people) and I do not need the gossip or any secret to make myself and break someone. If you want to keep a secret do not share. If two know about it it's no secret anymore.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great for you. Some secrets are told to become gossips. Its not fine to use it as a topic of any conversation most especially as a way to hurt someone dear to you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I can confidently say that I'm someone you can tell a secret. Aside from being a silent type of person, I know how to respect boundaries. That should be the real deal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Respect! Hahaha I should learn from that. I'm not confident before but now that I'm more mature in dealing with secrets, I can also respect it because I respect the person who shared me the secrets. You're right, knowing the boundaries is vital in order to do that. Her privacy may be open to you but to others it should not be the case.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Respect comes with maturity as well. It's rare to find someone who sees the same world as you so if you find one, you must keep her/him ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is legit haha it is truly not everywhere to find someone we can truly lay our cards down and reveal our secrets so they must be kept for life

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely. Good thing I found mine. I hope you too ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yehey! I have a solid group of friends too ✨

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's nice to know. Surrounding yourself with someone you trust to something we should treasure. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I can keep a secret, once you tell me a story or secret, makakalimutan ko din agad yaan, ahaha. Alam mo yun, nong kwenentuhan ako, tandang tanda ko pa, pero pag tumagal na limot ko na yun hahaha. Kaya anyone's secret is so safe with me. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHHAHAHAHA ayy grabe kaya pala safe ang secret kasi nalilimutan mo, ate 😂 pero okay na din yun kaso baka bigla mong maalala tas di mo na alam kung sino nagsabi sayo nakoo 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, ay oo yan pa. Diko na din tanda kung sino nagsabi 😂. Makakalimutin kasi pano ako, awan baga hahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHHA baka kelangan mo na atih may memo plus gold 🤧

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha. Bastos kang bata ka. Haha. Nililimutan ko kasi sadya talaga, kasi baka maichismiss ko ba, maganda na yung kimot na para maka move on na tapos hanap nalang ng bago, ahahah connect mo nalang ah.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahhaa secrets na ginawang chismis ahahahhaa tama tama mas oks na nga yung makakalimutin pag sa mga sekreto 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha, 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is true that secret once told never a secret. That is why it was called secret, no one must know only you. You could never rely once a secret being expose to the other end will not be divulged. Your best friend has a husband whom she believes be untrusted with secret, and the husband has a close brother he could trust to, thus, the secret goes on like a chain. Still there's an exemption, the priest who stand on the zeal of confession never, ever broke that zeal. What had been confessed it will be buried in his heart into the grave.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you really nailed this! you are right, you share a secret to someone and they will share it like a chain that will keep on spreading. You also hit the spot about the priest who will never break the seal of keeping our secrets. Are you a Filipino? Here on the PH, we have kumpisal and kumpil where we have the freedom to share any secrets to the Father in church :> Thanks for this comment I am reminded of it ✨

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So you are a Roman Catholic also. We believe on the seal of confession that is why we confess our sins to the priest believing and trusting that they live on that seal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Before but now I am a Christian. but I still do believe in that seal. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your secrets can be told to any believer, but there are some things that are good for you that no one else knows.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truth! Some secrets are just better with you alone. You could mot benefit from sharing it so might as well keep it to yourself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Trust is indeed a matter of fact when sharing secrets. I share some of my secrets to my best friends because I know that I can trust them and they also do the same. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. You won't share a secret to a stranger haha that's nice that you have friends to share secrets with. but it would be better that those secrets will not be too much of a burden for your friends and vice versa coz you can never tell if it will be hidden forever

$ 0.00
3 years ago