Confessions: Splitting

12 18
Avatar for shanenotdaisy
3 years ago

Hi. I'm a 20-something female with depression and splitting defense mechanism. This has been a burden to me due to series traumatic events from my childhood to adolescent years. It has took me so long to see a clinical psychologist because of the financial difficulties of going through therapy. But right now, I am happy to be able to have therapy from the support of my family and friends.

In this article and the next ones I will make, I will be sharing my journey to recovery.

MEMOIRS 1.

I will share a bit of what goes inside the mind of a person that undergoes splitting. For those of you who doesn't know what splitting is you can read this article:

https://www.betterhelp.com/advice/psychologists/what-is-splitting-psychology/

To simply put, splitting is a defense mechanism done by everyone of us. But it negatively impacts a person when this is coupled by depression and splitting has taken a significant toll on the person's cognitive functions (learning, thinking, reasoning, remembering, problem solving, decision making, and attention).

WARNING: This is an authentic journal entry from one of my bad episodes. This post might be a trigger to those suffering with mental-health issues. So please, if you are triggered click away from the post. :)

The next few lines are my journal entries prior therapy. You will see that I am trying to analyze myself while "talking" to my "other selves" or "split selves". Forgive the curse words. I reckon it's better to be completely transparent.

So Hi.

I was told to write things about the past.

I was told to this more than a week ago but I only did it now.. 6 hours from my therapy session.

Well.. I wrote somethings but most of them are non-specific.

I don't know why I can't write them.

If I try to explain it.. maybe it's because it's easier to just think about them than to talk about them.

I'm shit at explaining.

I tend to overthink that's why I can't explain "everything that I think about".

Like, where do I even begin?

Ever had that feeling where you feel like things are supposed to be too irrelevant but you have to talk about them?

Yep, that's what I'm feeling now.

Ever feel like you're a different person while typing because this is a different type of tone of voice inside your head?

Yep, that's what's happening now.

I hate to admit that there are times where I tend to feel like I'm in the backseat and I feel like watching myself in the 3rd person point of view.

WELL. being the curious person that I am. I've dabbled into the internet yeaaars (I am thinking that this is too informal for me, thus I wanna change it to: years) ago until now, and I've found out that that maybe dissociation.

Yep, come to think of it, whenever I am talking to my psychologist, I tend to have this persona of the victim, the helpless kind of Shane.

But lol, as I am typing right now, I feel like a different version of Shane too. I'm the cynical, calculated, maybe manipulative one hehe.

Sometimes I get so scared of how weird I am. Like now, I also am talking in another voice...I mean, as I type the words, I hear a "different persons" voice or a "different" Shane voice.

Uhmm. Yeah.

HMMMM. I just fear that I might be an non-diagnosed bipolar or BPD or MPD (DID) kind of person. OR I'M JUST TOO FUCKING MOODY.

GAAAAAAAHHH!! (literal I just heard someone scream in the back of my head)

I mean, I've researched it and I don't think I have Schizophrenia. I mean.. hopefully I don't have that.

It's just that I here different versions of Shane in my head sometimes.

It's kinda hays, how can I say it. It's kinda hard trying to describe something that has been habitual. I mean, I've kinda had these kinds of "voices" or "thinking pattern" inside my brain for as long as I can remember.

So, describing a second nature ... kinda ticks me off a bit. Right now, my brain is like in overdrive or something (I feel like this is another one of the voices)

HAYYYYS. Or maybe I just believe I have voices.

BUt fuck

I hate it.

I mean, this wasn't the first time. I had that incident where I locked myself in bed and cried and literally picturing out my 7 year old self and the other person who is idk the "care giver" of the whole system.

btw, my head is hurting right now, I mean my nape.

like hurting real bad. It's like my brain is stretching itself.

so yeah I am typing using notepad so it'll be faster. gaah

I worry about myself sometimes, I feel like I'm too weird to even let out the true "psycho" or "cynic" part of me. That's why.. I play the part.

What if, I'm just really insane but I'm too smart to be insane? or... my incessant need to please people. Maybe that.

well, just researched what schizophrenia symptoms are.......................... and i oop. hahahahahah

what the hell is wrong with me?

I need a diagnosis. I'm just... too abnormal.

out of all the 3 possible things, I'm more close to the BPD thing. I check out all the boxes except the self-mutilating part. but welp, i have thought of that. WHY HAVEN'T I DONE IT?

uhmmm.. well. family, friends, boyfriend. also, I feel like I can still fight this shit.

HAYUAYAYAYAYSADGASFGAUYSGFAUYSDFGIDF

Yeah well.

Okay, nglsdglgkljdkgjldfglkdfjglk yup.

Inani ka clustered akong brain karon. It's 4 am and I can't or my brain won't let me.. go to sleep.

I can try but I also want to keep writing.

I fell asleep after that.

So yes, this is what it looks like when I have my bad days. Most times though, I am high-functioning but there are just times where I'm so drowned in thought that bad episodes happen.

My purpose here is not to spread fear but to spread spread awareness that there mental health isn't a made-up concept nor is it something to take lightly. We must normalize it and make therapy accessible to those who are financially-challenged.

Cliche but we all must be kind to one another because pain is real.

Also, kindness is free and I believe kindness circles back! ^_^

If you have any questions, feel free to comment down below! I'll help as much as I can! :)

Stay safe everyone! Keep fighting!


2
$ 0.00
Avatar for shanenotdaisy
3 years ago

Comments

Well mine I guess before I have dual personality, like A & B personality. A is more fragile, sometimes weak and often sensible and tender while B is bold, full of guts, didn't fear anything and strong sometimes B covers the weaknesses of A. Like that scene because I've been into a lot of trauma too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You may have been splitting too. How are you now though? Are you doing great?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah maybe, I guess so. I'm okay now, I'm doing great already overcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's good to hear. :) Can I ask, how'd you overcome it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well someone who supports me morally helps me overcome everything, then tried to read some articles regarding psychological issues to understand myself better..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! It's good to find very understanding people! Those are very rare these days. Hold unto them! :)))

Anyway, do you have any tips on how to improve one's self?

PS. I followed you po. It would be great help if you gave back the favor. Thank you! ✨🙏❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah actually only one person, was bullied, misjudged with all the people in my surroundings but there's this guy who stood up for me and never leave my side even on my darkest days, my husband to be.

Well as for the tips, hmm let the time heal your pain do not force yourself to overcome everything in a snap. It is a very long process. Open up yourself to someone you can trust don't isolate, it will make you worst open the doors. We all need moral support, that's the greatest factor in overcoming psychological issues.

Done subscribing you, let's have a good time in here together. Welcome to read cash platform I hope you also have good time here just like us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. ༎ຶ‿༎ຶ

He is God's or the universe's blessing to you ma'am! ༎ຶ‿༎ຶ I appreciate the candidness.

I too was bullied back in the day and it really takes a toll on mental health.

Yes, I'm happy to share that I am receiving therapy right now. I am trying to cope day by day.

I will keep in mind your advices. Thank you very much for your time and appreciation of my post! :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I am thankful God send someone to save me in despair.

You will overcome it sooner just follow your therapist's advice and always pray that's the best antidote.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate it! ✨🙏❤️

Love and light your way too ma'am. Good luck on the wedding!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep fighting lang poh ma'am

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Sir! Ikaw din po! Trabaho lang po!

$ 0.00
3 years ago