Book of Words: Master and Fool

0 12
Avatar for shalinnerd
3 years ago

This is not really a review but just something I really liked about this book. This is a fantasy novel series and Master and Fool by J.V. Jones, is the third and last book in the series. It's hard to say who is the protagonist of the series because I feel like there is more than one. And I don't feel like it's written like it was just one. Which is something I like. It feels more like real life without the all-important one person who can do and be everything. Even though there are people more powerful than anyone else. Including one of the protagonists.

It also has a lot of politics, depictions of prostitution and sexual harassment, etc. So definitely not for very young readers. I love that it's relatable in the sense that it has aspects of real-life yet it's a fantasy. Also, I like that for both genders it doesn't feel like love is the most important part of the story, or that you can only love once or live with your first love forever. It breaks a lot of shitty stereotypes that will take a while to list and I liked that. It could have been slightly better but I still like it enough to finish it.

The specific part of the book I read and liked today was:

Tawl whipped around. "What's your point?"

"My point is that you should have told me. The danger here concerns all of us, and at the very least you owe me the truth. I will not be treated like a child who needs protecting. If there's trouble coming, I want to know exactly what to expect." By the time Jack had finished he was shaking.

A minute passed. The wind picked up a little, blowing sparks from the fire towards the sea.

Tawl took a deep breath and then spoke. "You're right, Jack. I'm sorry, I should have told you everything the minute I guessed what was happening." He looked Jack straight in the eye. He didn't lesson his apology by making excuses.

The first thing I liked is that although it has been mentioned that Jack doesn't like things being hidden from him this scene wasn't needed. Anything that comes after this could still happen even if he didn't say he should have been told what Tawl planned or knew. But this part shows us something about Jack and is executed very subtly. If it was obvious it would have felt different.

This is the second time I have noticed Jack react this way and it shows a kind of cPTSD like flashback that's triggered when something is hidden from him. It makes him more real. It bothers him that he doesn't know anything about his family. Or even his mother who was the only person in his family he knew. And that he felt that even she hid stuff from him and that hurts him. The way these parts are depicted reminds me of my own flashbacks. And how certain specific conversations always trigger me.

And the second part I like about this excerpt is He didn't lessen his apology by making excuses. I have always believed that apologies should not include excuses even if true because they reduce the apology. Even when I was a kid I still believed it. I remember several therapists and psychologists say it too that adding an excuse or a "but..." after an apology cancels it out (I am paraphrasing). And I don't know why I just like it that it's in a novel. I have never seen that kind of stuff in a novel. I could go on about all the little things I liked about the author's writing but maybe later. I will get back to the book instead... 😄

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for shalinnerd
3 years ago

Comments