Unforgettable Things My Mother Taught Me

0 19
Avatar for serendipity_mrie
2 years ago

Every woman can encounter obstacles every day in this chaotic and somewhat unpredictable environment, loaded with the stress of daily life. Women now play more roles than ever before at home, at work, and in their personal life. Because of the tremendous demands placed on women, I frequently refer to our current society as the "era of the superwoman."

In honor of my mother's birthday, January 31st, I'm writing about some of the fundamental lessons she taught me that have helped me survive in the world.

Miriam Eleanor Bresnahan, my mother, was born in 1920. She was primarily a stay-at-home mom. She was married to my father, Leo, a railroader, for 63 years and reared a family of seven children. In 2010, she passed away. She had reached the age of 90.

Our enormous family's emotional center was my mother. We told her about any troubles we were having, but we also told her about our joys. She was a wonderful mother and a wonderful wife. She spent her days selflessly devoted to her children's needs and dreams.

She instilled in each of us (one boy and six girls) the values of independence, self-reliance, and hard work. She was strong but loving, critical but forgiving, strict but feisty. When I returned home for college, I was struck by how Mom accepted a rapidly changing environment by embracing contemporary music and even dancing to it.

Miriam was born in 1920 and grew up in poverty, but when she fell in love, her life changed forever. I've watched her mature and evolve over the years, and I was enthralled by everything her children did. She was lovely, artistic, and enjoyed decorating, figure collecting, crafts, and sewing, but most importantly, she was a fantastic cook.

No one could withstand her magnetic attraction. She was a lovely person who was adored. She had a knack of winning people over, and when they entered her home, they were instantly accepted as a member of the family. To say she was encouraging would be an understatement. Her entire life had been dedicated to her children and spouse. She's extremely amazing!

Here are nine crucial lessons I learned from my mother:

1. Whatever you do, always give it your all.

She always encouraged us to join in church and school activities. We were encouraged to give it our all in all we did.

2. Speak up — your voice matters.

I suppose speaking up becomes second nature in a large family; otherwise, you might not be heard at all. Mom, on the other hand, valued anything we had to say and made us feel as if our opinions were always important.

3. If you start something, be sure you finish it.

She made it plain that no matter what we did or tried, we would not give up. We taught perseverance, which helped us all become high achievers in school and in life.

4. Make the most of your abilities.

My mother was overjoyed to learn of her children's abilities. She advised us to focus on our strengths.

5. Be kind to others and love your neighbors.

Growing up in a Catholic household, loving your neighbors and being kind to others came naturally.

6. You should treat others the way you want to be treated.

She made sure we all realized that the golden rule was a way of life for us.

7. Whatever happens, always be truthful.

This was a big lesson we learned at home and carried out into the world. Honesty is essential at all times.

8. Fighting is a waste of time; accept your mistakes.

If there was a disagreement, we were always urged to be the first to apologize. We didn't waste any time arguing with one another.

9. Put your trust in God and His plan.

Our lives were founded on a foundation of faith in God. This faith's value is something I've found impossible to live without in my life. I will always believe that God has a plan for my life, and this belief keeps me grounded.

"I honor my mother by remembering the lessons she taught me; I can only hope that I am as good a mother as she was, and I hope that this list will inspire other women and men to focus on the lessons they are teaching their children in today's complex and ever-changing world."

2
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for serendipity_mrie
2 years ago

Comments