What we can learn outside the school?

1 31
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago
Photo: Template from Canva

We all come to school for a purpose - to learn. In the four corners of a classroom we come to sit and listen to our instructors to gain knowledge and develop our potential. In our seats, we read thick and thin books to test and improve our understanding. That is what we perceive as learning. However, is learning only confined inside our classrooms? Is learning restricted to sitting, reading a book and trying to memorize and analyze what was written? Probably, not.

Learning is not limited, it goes beyond the gates of the school. It goes beyond words written and words spoken. There is learning in new experiences that we acquire. There are lessons in different places we visit. As a student, who is willing to learn more than what the school can offer, I should be craving for knowledge not learnt from books. I should be yearning for things not part of my everyday routine to learn, learn and learn more. Fortunately, the university gave us an opportunity to experience learning different from the conventional.

During my first year, our instructor gave us the opportunity to have an educational tour in different businesses in the capital for one of our subjects. The trip cost a lot. This made me realize that we need to compromise some things to learn things not usually learnt in the classroom. We learn for a price. This also reminds us that to make most out of the learning experience by preparing our minds in order to absorb everything.

One of the places we went to was the Department of Finance (DOF). Some of their employees presented us information about the department. The presenters taught about what they really do. Some people think that DOF makes money but they do not. They make fiscal policies or ways of the government to earn funds though taxes and other sources. They evaluate if the country should loan money outside or just inside the country to local bank and how much they should loan. They also facilitate in the raising of taxes.

We also went to Philippine Stocks Exchange (PSE). I was amazed of the view of tall, modern buildings and clean surroundings. Through the PSE, I learned that even young people like me could not just save money but earn more money through investments. To make sure we avoid fake investment, there is PSE where we can have an account for investments to buy and sell.

Even when we encountered a lot of problems, we were able to conduct that learn from the tour and even finish it with smiles on our faces. Overall, I learned a lot of new things.

  • I learned that new technologies greatly contribute in making production efficient and effective. It reduces time, produces more and relieves work. Therefore, in production, a company must focus in developing their own technologies that fit their products.

  • I learned that there are a lot of choices of fund sourcing but there are also a lot of risks. Therefore, I must make myself educated on how to manage my finances.

  • I learned that in everything, I must follow a high standard so I can make sure that whatever I do is of high quality and does not compromise sustainability.

  • I learned that saving money is different from earning. Saving is setting aside money but earning is making it grow. From now on, I will think of ways to earn more for my future.

It was a great experience. I never thought I could have experienced that in my life. I was inspired to do better so I could work on big companies like the ones we have visited. I motivated myself that I would come back there not as a student but as an employee to practice my course.

4
$ 0.60
$ 0.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of senyoritakayzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago

Comments

I agree that there are lots of things to learn also even outside the school, such as the educational tours where students learn a lot while enjoying the experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago