What happens when the World suddenly Stops Turning

0 13
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago
Topics: Spinning, World

It just randomly pops up in my mind. What if the world has just suddenly stopped revolving? Are you gonna fall for me now? char.

But seriously, what would happen then? Are we gonna fall, or are we going to float somewhere else? Or else, are we going to melt like a candle or even faster?

A lot of questions possibly arise too in your mind, and just as you were, I am very curious as to what will really happen. Thanks to science and some sources online, I could catch up on some possible things that may answer these questions we have on our minds.

In relation to the Smithsonian Magazine's article entitled "What Would Happen if the Earth Stopped Rotating? and More Questions From our Readers," it was stated there that "it wouldn't be good. At the Equator, the earth's rotational motion is at its fastest, about a thousand miles an hour. If that motion suddenly stopped, the momentum would send things flying eastward. Moving rocks and oceans would trigger earthquakes and tsunamis. The still-moving atmosphere would scour landscapes" (Diamond, 2018:online).

Sponsors of senyoritakayzee
empty
empty
empty

Furthermore, because the earth is spinning at approximately 1000 miles per hour, everything on it, including us is also moving at 1000 miles per hour. Still, we do not perceive this movement in the same way that you do not perceive yourself moving in a car after you have become accustomed to it.

And you can't feel it similar to how you don't feel my presence while making pansin to you after you have gotten used to it, charizz!

And here's more: As a result of everything else continuing to move at 1000 miles per hour, if the earth were to halt abruptly, we would be propelled eastward at that speed, and all living creatures would probably perish instantly upon making an impact with a hard surface like the ground at 1000 miles per hour is pretty much instant death.

As I continued to read online, I learned that every building would very certainly collapse due to the huge force that would be experienced by anything to the east. Significant water displacement and ocean currents traveling at 1000 miles per hour eastward would occur, causing widespread flooding over the earth.

It was mentioned that the earth's rotational motion is at its fastest at the Equator, I wonder what would happen to us if we were there. Maybe, we will just keep on spinning and spinning until I become like a spinning top, and when it stops, I will move to different places, but you wouldn't catch me if I fall, char!

Anyway, that is all for this topic. I hope you enjoyed it the same way I enjoyed it. I also hope that the entertainment factor that I have included somehow entertains you, char! See you in my next post!

2
$ 2.21
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @SilverBack
Sponsors of senyoritakayzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for senyoritakayzee
2 years ago
Topics: Spinning, World

Comments