Shooting Film : Leica Minilux

2 27
Avatar for seangold
4 years ago

Hello and welcome back!

Hope you had a great holiday season and New Year! Today I wanted to share with you some of my latest film images I shot over the past couple of months and developed right before the New Year!

This is probably the most diverse roll I've shot yet, as I took quite a bit of time to shoot it. This was my last roll of film from my Kodak UltraMax 400 triple pack, and I must say, I'm quite happy it's used up.

Let's start off with probably my favorite shot of this roll, this awesome portrait I got of my good friend and model Brittany while in Miami:

I wasn't really sure how this would turn out, as this was my first low-light shot with this camera, so I left it on F2.4 and hoped for the best.

Speaking of portraits and Miami, here's another:


This is my great uncle, my grandfathers brother on my fathers side. He's almost 90, and has an incredible immigration story that still amazes me to this day, as with most of my family on that side coming to America from Tunisia with nothing but hope.

And now here's just a few beach scenes from Miami:

After a quick trip to Miami, it was back to the freezing cold North East, Boston, and cats. Lots of cats:


And then, we got a 40 degree warm day, because yes, that is warm as hell in a Boston winter, so I decided to go into town with some friends and shoot some film and finish of this roll. So here's some of the shots I got from that night, portraits and street shots:


Conclusion: I'm still trying to find where shooting film fits into my style, as well as my budget, bu I do enjoy it for a few different reasons. I still want to try out quite a few different films, but that too plays into the cost factor, of dropping 12$ on a roll of film, plus another 10$ for developing, it hurts a bit. But it also makes it kind of the novelty that it is, used sparingly these photos tell a more concise story and meaningful moments than the 100's of images we pop off with our SLR or even our phone cameras. I leave for Japan in about a month and I'm still trying to decide if I should make room for some film and my Leica or not. I guess we'll see.

2
$ 0.20
$ 0.10 from @Read.Cash
$ 0.10 from @Telesfor
Avatar for seangold
4 years ago

Comments

Great shots!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

thanks

$ 0.00
4 years ago