Link Hosting: Is A Personal Website Necessary?

6 37
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
4 years ago

Today I think having a personal website isn’t entirely necessary when we can get across our message on social media. For most people, all they need is a place that has all their other links and information to consolidate their social presence. Let me show you what I do.

While there are few exceptions for celebrities and people with massive followings, but the average person doesn’t need a personal website. I want to share with you a significantly easier and cheaper solution that I use myself.

I want to share with you what I use which you can do too for free or pay a little bit more for your own domain. Mine only costs me $10 a year so it’s affordable. In summary, all you have to do is rent a domain and point it to your Linkly site which you can easily share all your other social links on. If you decide you want to do so for free, you can skip getting a domain, but I personally prefer having an easier address that is more closely related to my brand. For me, as @scottcbusiness I use the domain scottcbusiness.com.

For domain hosting I use https://www.domain.com/, but you can really use any domain host. You may even want to defer to using a decentralized domain host for better control over your domain. Regardless though, all you must do is buy your domain and then look for where you can point the domain and point it to whichever URL you’d like. For me, I point it to my Linkly address.

On Linkly you have a simple but effective interface that you can edit on the go, so you don’t have to update your bio link anywhere else and save times of time and effort. You can sign up for free at https://linkly.co/. I’ve tried other link websites, but this one was the best for me so if you feel there is something better, please share with everyone in the comments below.

Let me know what you think about this in the comments below and don’t forget to subscribe!

 

2
$ 1.00
$ 1.00 from @nyusternie
Sponsors of scottcbusiness
empty
Avatar for scottcbusiness
Written by
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
4 years ago

Comments

[deleted]

$ 0.00
4 years ago

makes sense to me

what would you say is the best decentralized version of youtube out there? something ideally suited for short 2-3min vids

$ 0.00
4 years ago

DTube on Steem or LBRY. Two best options that will also make you the most money. Bitchute is good too, but not monetized.

$ 0.25
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
4 years ago

thanks, i'll check em out

edit: d.tube seems like the best of the 3. but 2 of the 3 vids i clicked on were streaming youtube :( kinda defeats the purpose of supporting "d"tube .. anyway, i've used vimeo in the past, and i know it handles mobile very well, may just default back to that

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Oh yeah, they allow people who want to just upload their YouTube videos to earn Steem to do that as well. But you can upload in a decentralized uncensorable way through their actual upload process

$ 0.00
User's avatar scottcbusiness
This user is who they claim to be.
We have manually verified this user via some other channel.
Proof
4 years ago

that's convenient for sure, just would prefer if they re-encoded onto their own servers and removed the google branding .. anything google just gives me the heebie-jeebies

$ 0.00
4 years ago