The Devil's Novel

2 25
Avatar for scarquinn
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

@scarquinn

It's been three years now, pero hindi ko pa rin makalimutan yung nangyari sa akin. After I saw a copy of that book once again, biglang bumalik lahat nang nangyari.

It all began when an accident happened that night years ago. I was drunk driving. Galing ako sa bahay ng workmate ko nung nagkainuman kami at naparami ako ng inom. Sa totoo lang, lahat kami nun bagsak na at ako nalang ang natatanging kaya pang tumayo. Hindi na ako nagpaalam na aalis dahil hindi ko na rin naman sila magising.

I can't spend the night there kasi may mga pasok pa kami bukas kaya naman napilitan akong magmaneho. I picked my keys in my pocket at binuksan ang pintuan ng driver's seat.

I suddenly stopped when I saw a man-like shadow inside my car. He was there I knew it. I shook my head to see if I was hallucinating. And so I suspected that I was because there was nothing on my passenger's seat when I looked at it again.

I started my car and began driving. It was past midnight, kaya kakaunti nalang ang sasakyan sa daan. Ilang milya nalang ang kailangan kong daanan bago ako makarating. When my phone suddenly rang. I tried to reach in my pocket while I was looking at the road when it slipped through my hands. So I had to bow my head down for me to reach it.

I got it immediately and looked back at the road. But it was too late. Nang makita ko ang nakakasilaw na liwanag at narinig ang nakabibinging busina ng sasakyang papasalubong sa aking direksyon. Ang huli ko na lang na natatandaan ay ang pagtalsik ng minamaeho kong sasakyan bago ito magpagulong-gulong at tuluyan akong mawalan ng malay.

I woke up in the hospital. My head hurts so much, my left foot and my right arm was broken. I got bruises all over my body, my ribs was fractured, my ear was torn. I can't move my body and the only thing I can control is my eyelids. In short, a total disaster.

I saw him again. I knew it. I wasn't hallucinating that night when I saw that shadow, He's staring at me. I was in terror but I can't scream. He came closer, slowly. He was inches apart from me. I was heavily breathing, my heart beated rapidly.

"Hey, you're finally awake. How are you feeling?" sa wakas, isang nurse ang biglang iniluwa ng pintuang iyon na siyang nagpawala ng aninong kanina lang ay nasa tabi ko.

"My fucking whole body hurts," I replied. As I looked at her and her face is somehow familiar. I asked her a question as I am trying to remember where I saw her the first time.

"How long was I've been unconscious?" She smirked at me as she gazed at me straight in the eye.

"Three years," maikling sagot nito at sapat na iyon para bahagya akong mapabalikwas sa kinahihigaan ko. But in reality, it just widely opened my eyes and accidentally gasped for air. And that's when she started to laugh. I sighed as she continued laughing. Napangiti nalang ako sa nasasaksihan ko ngayon. She was joking about how long I have been unconscious.

She gasped for air after laughing so hard earlier.

"I did it! I made you smile," she said to me joyfully.

"Three days, it took only three days until you woke up. Bakit ka pa kasi nag-inom nung gabing yun. Alam mo naman palang uuwi ka?" she asked. I was going to answer that question when time suddenly stopped. I felt the heaviness of the air circling around the room. Murmuring voices are all over the place. Once again, he was there. But this time, in a human form.

I know he was the shadow earlier and that in the car. They have the same aura. He's wearing a tuxedo, staring at me. As if he wanted to tell something.

"I can grant you your immidiate recovery, no scars, no bruises, no broken bones. And if you accept the deal, you can save yourself from being crippled for a lifetime. As you can see the damage the accident had caused you," he explained to me without him saying for what will be the cost of his offer.

"This is your fault, ikaw may kasalanan kung b-bakit ako naaksidente, why would I agree to a deal with the devil? And what would be the cost?" I told him. I was never confused of what's happening. I was hesitant and interested as the same time. I don't want to be useless for the rest of my life.

And minutes later, I just found myself considering that deal.

"Because, you don't wanna be useless right? At sa kondisyong hihingin ko. Wala pa akong naiisip, kaya be ready when I finally decide to get my favor back," he said confidently and snapped his hands.

The pain slowly subsided as I saw my bruises fading, my broken bones are getting back to their place. All of a sudden I am back as if the accident never happened. He advised me to leave immidiately and so I did. I glanced at the nurse one more time before leaving.

All I heard back there is the nurse who is left dumbfounded after I magically disappeared before her eyes.

At least I was okay, for now.

I immediately came back to work. My colleagues was left dumbfounded whe they saw me. It feels good to be back. Something's in me na hindi ko maipaliwanag. It was an overwhelming feeling.

I greeted every person na makasalubong ko nung araw na iyon. Mas mabilis ko na din natatapos ang mga pinapagawa sa akin. It felt everything is in the right place. Not until I found out that all of it was going all according to the devil's plan.

T'was the most perfect year happened to my life. I am wedded to the person whom I loved for a very long time, Evening. We had kids named Summer, Celestine and Dark. We were happy until the devil decided to barged in our lives once again.

He visited me one night. Matutulog na sana ako nun nang biglang umihip ang malakas na hangin mula sa bintana. The next thing I knew was he was there, leaning at my wall, grinning. I gulped. He stepped slowly towards me and out of nowhere, a book came out of his hands. He was playing with it using his fingers.

"Long time, no see. It's been a while, eh?" He patted my shoulders and sat beside me. I looked at him nervously as he was making an eye contact with me.

"It's time for my favor, don't worry it's very simple. It's just like the ones you already watched on the movies." He explained.

"See this book, I want to get it published." he gave it to me and lighted a cigarrette.

"Since when you become a writer?" I asked him as he puffed his cigarette.

"Since you, Samael. My original child, I was looking out for you since Day 1," he said and that made me thought about things. I learned I was an orphan when I was eleven and that changed a lot of things in my life.

I was never bullied at school but I never had a friend either. It seems that they're afraid of me. They said that often times, they saw my eye turned red. And more mysterious things happened all my life.

"But how? And what's about this book," I asked.

"Oh, I almost forgot. I need you to read it, and..."

"And what?"

"Fulfill the phropecy, it is written on this book," he said as I started to open the pages. Kakabasa ko pa lang ng unang pahina ay nalaman ko na tungkol sa akin ang libro. Nakalathala dito ang lahat ng mga nangyari sa buhay ko. It was very detailed.

"H-How should I supp—" bago ko pa man matapos ang sinasabi ko ay napahinto ako nang pagkalingon ko ay wala na siya.

Sinimulan kong basahin ang libro simula umpisa. Tuluyan lang akong naniwala nang mabasa ko ito hanggang kasalukuyan. Inabot din ako ng dalawang araw sa pagbabasa. Saka ko pa lamang sinimulang basahin ang aking kailangang gawin.

"The devil gave the book and told him about the prophecy. In order to fulfill it , he must obey what has been written on this book," pagkabasa ko nun ay huminga ako ng malalim at itinuloy ang pagbabasa.

In just after a year, I fullfilled what the devil has sent me to do. It was hard long year. I didn't know how I did it. I just realized it was done.

"His wife was planning to leave him with their children. And he discovered it reading the book. In order to avoid his wife, he killed her."

And so I did, in a very amusing way and it was clean. It was a very delightful view of her covered in blood while begging for her life as I told her what I discovered. Her screams served as a sweet cheerful melody in my ears. And her slowly fading breath sounds like the instrumental in an ending of a beautiful song that touched my heart deeply.

"His boss was going to promote his co-worker instead of him who almost dedicated his life in his job. So he killed his co-worker without anyone knowing. And taking the promotion."

And so I did, and just a week later, I was promoted. I displayed his body in his office, hanging. Making it look like a suicide. It was a picture perfect scene when I saw their faces crying.

"His son, Dark will soon became a rebel, and will do the things against his will. So, he amputated his son's legs and made him unable to execute his plan."

And so, I did. The three hours of torture was worth it. First, I tied him up in a chair, blindfolded, in an empty basement. I talked to him and every wrong answer I will bury a nail in his toes. He screamed in pain. He told me ten lies equalled to ten toes. Then I amputated his both legs. And my son will finally stay with me for the rest of his life.

"And he let the world to see what he had done. Without knowing his identity, he left the book in his father's house which happened to be an author, a greedy one. And soon kill him after it was published under his father's name. And it will sold millions of copies."

And so I did. It became one of the world's selling book in that year. I'm pretty pissed that it wasn't my name printed on it. But it was good. At least the sales went in my bank account. I became rich.

I thought it was finished until a text appear in the last page.

"And soon he will discover that someone will know his history, what he did, and who he really are. And that's the one who is reading his story. And so, he must kill them."

It's been three years now, pero hindi ko pa rin makalimutan yung nangyari sa akin. After I saw a copy of that book once again, biglang bumalik lahat nang nangyari. I still need to kill who knew my history.

And it's you.

WN/: Hoped you enjoyed the story. ❤️

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of scarquinn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for scarquinn
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

Comments

Ang angas! Yung flow ng kwento is organized. Di rin sya nakakaboring kahit mahaba. Continue mo lang paps!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago