You're a Kdrama Fan girl/boy if you...

13 53
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Korean dramas became so popular. I started watching series in 2011 when there are still a few who love watching series. When I was in college, there are only a few of us in the class who loves binge-watching Kdramas. Then in just an instant, in 2016 when most of my favorite dramas were aired, a lot of people started to like Kdramas too. The majority of our class started coming to me and my friend to ask for copies, since that time it is not so easy to download and obtain copies. Nowadays, a lot of pages and groups are created on Facebook and they mostly share about new or ongoing dramas, memes, and news. I usually follow those pages because it's good to know that there are also others who can relate to what I feel.

When I'm watching a certain drama and there's a life lesson or funny scene and lines that I could relate to, I would take a screenshot of it. Then when I log in to Facebook, I would see other people who posted the same photo I took a screenshot of, I would feel happy. Because I know that there are those who could relate to me.

My sister would always call me a fangirl and she would laugh at me. But I am not offended because that is actually true. I'll say you are a K-drama fangirl or fanboy if you...

Tried to learn Korean or Hangeul at least once.

If you also love to watch Kdrama's isn't it awesome to watch it without subtitles? When you can just focus on the scenes instead of watching and reading the subtitles at the same time. As a drama fangirl, I feel great when I am watching a drama and I could understand a bit of what they are saying even without the subtitles. So I was determined to learn hangeul, the Korean alphabet, and the way of writing. I learned the alphabet within 3 days but I could still forget it from time to time. But after a lot of practice, I could finally read the words written in Korean. I am following some actors and actresses I like and I don't have to click on the translation button to read what they wrote. I also have Korean installed on my keyboard.

Used Korean words when talking to people.

Yeoboseyo? Wae? Eotteoke?!Arraseo. Ne. Annyeong. Choeun Achim!

If you're a Kdrama fan, I'm sure you've also used these words when talking to other people such as your family members and friends. There are times when I would automatically answer a call and say "Yeoboseyo?". Before, my mom would scold me for doing that, but they are used to it now.

Bought Korean-inspired merchandise.

Let's start with soju. A Korean alcoholic beverage that will never be absent in Kdramas. I could always see those characters drinking like it's not an alcoholic beverage so I was curious what it really tastes like. So I also bought and tried it. Aside from soju, I also purchased chopsticks and I use them during almost every meal. I also purchased dresses that are inspired by Kdramas.

Tried Korean Foods.

Perhaps, one of the scenes that fascinates me the most when watching Kdramas is the scenes where the characters eat. I'm always fascinated by the way they eat and they make it look like the food is super delicious. And I'm always curious about the taste of those foods. So as a Kdrama fangirl I tried some of the foods such as tteokbokki, odeng (Korean fish cake), samgyupsal (Korean barbeque), and corn dogs. I even tried to cook corn dogs once, but it was an epic fail.

New oppa or unnie added to heart when watching a new drama.

Probably doesn't need any explanation. Kdrama fans would always dote on a new oppa (big brother) and unnie (big sister) whenever there is a new drama. I have lots of oppas that I want and most of the time, I would only watch a drama because a certain actor or actress I like is the lead of that drama, but usually ends up liking the other actors too. I watched the drama Start Up before because I like Suzy and Nam Joo Hyuk, but I ended up liking Kim Seon Ho and started binge-watching his other dramas. It broke my heart when he was caught in a scandal right after his drama ended. But I've moved on now and currently have a crush on 2 PM's Lee Joon Ho. I really like his acting on his recent drama entitled The Red Sleeve Cuff.

Do you also like Kdramas? Which of these did you do?

Lead image.

11
$ 21.85
$ 21.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @cmoneyspinner
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 2
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I know how to read hangeul letters ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

안녕 ㅋㅋㅋㅋ

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only tried watching a drama without subtitle twice. When I was too excited for the update and they haven't released the subbed video 😅 It's really hard trying to understand it.

I also love Sageuk or historical Kdramas but those are usually heartbreaking, well, as expected from history. You should also watch The King's Affection. I'm binge-watching it while waiting for the The Red Sleeve update ☺️

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wag mo na akong tanungin dyan. Baka maging article pa yung isasagot ko. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gawan mo na lang din ng article sagot mo 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Wag na, para maiba naman😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a total fan of drama but I watched a few series like Goblin which was my favorite, I prefer to watch movies cause it's more realistic and also those action films that are full of fights and adventures. I have this friend that a fan of BTS then we argue when I said that they are gays hahaha, I love to make her pissed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like movies because most of them are cliffhanger 😅 I'm more satisfied in binge-watchung dramas with lots of episodes lol. Don't joke around BTS fans, they are terrifying 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Naalala ko nung nagtatrabaho pako Muka kami mga Tanga sa office Kasi puro Korean phrase Yung sinasabi maisingit lang hahaha.

Sa Korean foods , influence nga sya ng Korean pero ngayon kahit dinako nanunuod e nakain padin ako. Kakakain ko palang pala ng jin ramen kanina haha

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Haha grabe talaga ang impluwensya ng Kdrama 😅 Kami sa school dati yung parang tanga na gumagamit ng Korean words and phrases.

Masarap naman kasi talaga yung Korean foods, lalo na yung samgyup. Kahit nga yung hindi fan ng kdrama eh nahihilig na dun sa samgyup hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Ako di pa naman umabot sa ganyan yung bumili lang nang mga korean food yung noodles ba haha..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Malala na pala ako haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago