Wonderful High School Memories

7 31
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

They say that high school life is the best part of being a student. Well, as for me, I won't say that it is the best because my college days experiences are better and way more exciting than my high school days experiences.

But like any other student out there, I also have fun and unforgettable experiences in high school.

From Star Section to Second Section

I am just an ordinary girl from a poor family, so my parents sent me to a public school at a nearby town. There is also a school at our barangay where most of my elementary classmates went, but I have to go to the school in town, so I can look after my sister who that time, is studying at a school that caters to children with special needs.

My first day in high school is terrifying because I was at a new environment where I do not know anyone, compared to some of my classmate who went to the same elementary schools together. What comforted me is the fact that like before, I was in a star section again. However, since I am an introvert back then, I cannot fully express myself, and I am very shy during recitations and I don't get along with my classmates. I just sit in a corner and talks only if someone talks to me. I only did well on the written activities and examinations.

Because I performed poorly during my first year, I was transferred to the second section when the second year came. This time, I belonged to the 'elite' students of the class because I came from the star section. I was even elected as a class secretary and became the favorite of several subject teachers. That time, it is a proud moment when you are one of the teacher's pet. 😂

I must say that my life in the second section was much better than when I was in the first section because not everyone is competitive, it's okay to get a low score, you can do crazy stuffs with your classmates and there's no pressure coming from the teachers - you can just totally chill.

Being in the second section helped me to get out of my shell. I became more confident compared to how I was before and this time, I did well again during classes and as a result I was promoted back to the star section during third year and fourth year. The pressure is on again, but my experiences in second year made me braver, and I now have friends to rely on as well. I'm happy to say that I am no longer as introverted as I was in the first year when I left my high school.

Learned to read romance pocketbooks

When I was in high school, android phones are not common yet. Most of the students doesn't own a mobile phone either so there is no way to read stories on Wattpad, unlike today.

I was im high school when I became addicted to these books. Photo credits to carousel.ph

I was in second year when I learned about romance pocketbooks such as Precious Hearts Romances and Mills and Boon. I was influenced by an older cousin who transferred to my school and I became addicted to it when I was in third year. There's are times that I even skipped my afternoon classes, so I can go to the municipal library with my friends. We stay there for hours, just to read pocketbooks and before going home, we just leave our school library card and borrows a bunch of pocketbooks and novels which is worth a month's read.

What's more thrilling and exciting is reading pocketbooks during class hours, I just put in between the pages of a book or notebook, so the teacher will think that I'm studying hard 😂

But my parents doesn't know that I read it, so at home I was very careful not to get noticed that I'm reading it. Sometimes, I sleep at 3 am because I was immersed in the story, I only use a lighter with a mini flashlight and read the book under a blanket, and sometimes under the bed, not minding if there are any insects lying there.

The First Crush

When I was in elementary, I was left behind by my classmates when it comes to crushes. Some of my classmates even have their puppy love while I on the other hand only focuses on books.

But when I was in first year, I got my first ever crush. He was my classmate. During lunchtime, I do not eat my packed lunch in the classroom, instead I eat at my little sister's classroom, it so happen that my classmate 'Juan' eats his lunch there too because my sister's teacher is his aunt. I was fascinated that every day, we coincidentally have the same food. I don't talk to him, but I always observe him. He's also good in class and have the looks. Because of him, I was always excited to go to school and tries my best to be early, so I can go near him, and get a nearer view of his face during the flag ceremony - because our seats are far from each other in the classroom. I realized that it's good to have a crush, but I was in vain because I was too shy to tell anyone about my feelings.

I got few crushes back in high school and there were fun and memorable memories, but I guess I'll just write a separate article about that.

It's really fun to recall the school tome memories, and writing this made me feel really nostalgic. I still have a lot of wonderful high school memories aside from these, but I will save it for next time.

6
$ 12.54
$ 12.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Hanzell
Sponsors of sc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for sc
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Halaaa, same tayo nagsisingit ng pb sa libro habang nagtuturo ang teacher. Marami namam akong kasama ahahahaha. Ang daming masayang nangyari sakin sa hs the best talaga yan. Hanggang ngayon andito pa rin collection ko ng pocketbook, nagrerent talaga kami nyan ni mama. Addict na addict ako jan. Kahit hating gabi pag diko natapos ang isang libro, magtatalukbong lang ako tapos ilaw ng cp, o kaya maliit na flash light ahaha. Grabi eyebags ko dahil jan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha ako din may mga friends na ganyan. Madalas sa likod kami nakaupo para di mahahalata ng teacher na di naman nakikinig at nagbabasa lang ng pocketbook 😅 Minsan 3 am na natutulog kakabasa, tapos gigising ng 5:00 kasi malayo yung school. Pag sa bahay naman iniipit ko pa yan sa garter ng shorts ko para di ni mama mahalata na binabasa ko, di niya kasi alam na nagbabasa ako ng pocketbooks until now 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

Halaaa kala ko ako lang ang ganyan. Galit na galit si mame pag nagbabass ako nyam. Kaya sa c.r ako tunatambay. Pero may nakaipit sa garter ng short kong pocketbook, minsan nga pag makapal ung binabasa ko daw na kong buntis, mahahalata. Pero magaling akong lumusot kaya ahahahaha. Akong ako yan ee. Nakaka tuwa namaj ahahaha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Buti pa po kayo magandang experience noong high school, kami kasi sinira yung graduation saka recognition na pinakamasaya nitong covid eh. Awit na yan HAHAHHAHAHA

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Di pa nga kalahati yan kaso, sa sunod naman yung ibang part 😂 Ganyan din kapatid ko, yung ilang araw na lang graduation na, pero biglang nagka covid 😅 Hintayin nyo na lang graduation sa college hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago

omg same feels! But in my case, I got fond of reading novels in wattpad and also became a kpop fan hehe

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Wattpad doesn't exist yet (at least in our lives lol) during my high school days 😅 But I learned about it in college. And guess what - I became super addicted to reading the novels there too. And became kpop fan in college too. Now I'm nostalgic about those days - fangirling over Super Junior, EXO, Boyfriend, SNSD and F(x) 😍😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
3 years ago